Results 1 to 5 of 5
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 362, Level: 4
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 88
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Watford, UK
    Posts
    3
    Points
    362
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    26PFL5522D/05 Red Button

    Since the digital switch over in the London area the Red Button no longer works on our 26PFL5522D/05. I've tried various set up procedures including disconnecting from the mains, completely clearing the channels and reinstalling and also a simple check to see if their are any additional channels. None of these have got the Red Button working and in other words it doesn't switch over to interactive TV which it would prior to the switch over. What I have found is Channel 301 (labelled - Red Button Channel) is available and other text services are also available.

    One other anomaly I've noted is when I tune in my LG DVD recorder it finds around 134 services yet the Philips TV only finds 115 services. I have checked the Signal Quality and that shows as Excellent and the Signal Strength shows at about two thirds along the bar.

    I've also tried a factory reset and still no luck

    I would appreciate any suggestions.

    Many Thanks
    Last edited by zigthedog; 07-29-2012 at 06:55 PM.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 9,766, Level: 29
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 184
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Overdrive
    Philips - Benedickte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,015
    Points
    9,766
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by zigthedog View Post
    Since the digital switch over in the London area the Red Button no longer works on our 26PFL5522D/05. I've tried various set up procedures including disconnecting from the mains, completely clearing the channels and reinstalling and also a simple check to see if their are any additional channels. None of these have got the Red Button working and in other words it doesn't switch over to interactive TV which it would prior to the switch over. What I have found is Channel 301 (labelled - Red Button Channel) is available and other text services are also available.

    One other anomaly I've noted is when I tune in my LG DVD recorder it finds around 134 services yet the Philips TV only finds 115 services. I have checked the Signal Quality and that shows as Excellent and the Signal Strength shows at about two thirds along the bar.

    I've also tried a factory reset and still no luck

    I would appreciate any suggestions.

    Many Thanks
    Good Morning Zigthedog

    First of all welcome to the forums.

    I would advice you to call your local customer service for further help.

    Best Regards
    Benedickte
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 362, Level: 4
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 88
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Watford, UK
    Posts
    3
    Points
    362
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Unhappy Philips customer service won't help

    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Benedickte View Post
    I would advice you to call your local customer service...........
    Many thanks Benedickte for you advice, unfortunately Philips will only send an engineer out for a fault such as this, apparently it needs a software update, if the set is less than 4 years old. Ours has missed this date by 4 days! Fortunately it was purchased from John Lewis with their 5 year warranty and they have agreed to send a engineer.

    Little disappointed at Philips refusal to help especially as the TV is just 4 days outside the 4 years and was two months within the 4 years when the fault occured. We have another Philips TV which we bought 7 years ago that need a new on/off switch. I'm not expecting a free repair for this but i would like to think I could get a new switch myself but NO, not only the TV but the switch is no longer stocked. Something tells me I won't be buying another Philips television.

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 320, Level: 3
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 30
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    25
    Points
    320
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    This could be hardware problem. A friend of mine had this problem before and what he did was simply call the customer support and they provided a technician to check it.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 362, Level: 4
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 88
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Watford, UK
    Posts
    3
    Points
    362
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by daempii View Post
    This could be hardware problem. ............................... simply call the customer support and they provided a technician to check it.
    All the TV needed was a software update but as the TV was two or three days outside 4 years old Philips Customer Support refused to help. Fortunately the TV was purchased from John Lewis who were more than happy to help and sent a technician out in line with their 5 year tv warranty.

    I must say my experience of Philips Customer Service has not been good, I certainly would think twice in the future about buying another Philips product.

Similar Topics

  1. 26pfl5522d/05
    By Roger Lane in forum TV: Installation
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 10-09-2012, 11:26 AM
  2. Lost reception on BBC red button (26PFL5522D/05, UK).
    By Hamish in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-19-2011, 10:34 PM
  3. Assign red button
    By daL in forum Smart TV: IP-EPG, HbbTV, MHP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-23-2011, 05:11 PM
  4. How to reassign a red button
    By Marc in forum Smart TV: IP-EPG, HbbTV, MHP
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-21-2011, 08:36 PM
  5. red button is corrupted
    By bta in forum Smart TV: IP-EPG, HbbTV, MHP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-02-2011, 08:44 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •