Page 7 of 30 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 105 of 449

Topic: 47pfl6877t

  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #91
    Moderator
    Points: 9,766, Level: 29
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 184
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Overdrive
    Philips - Benedickte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,015
    Points
    9,766
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by gstan80 View Post
    Benedickte, I am currently running on 133.4.0. Is there any new one available?

    Best, G.
    Hi G, and Stephan.

    Tha latest (133.5) is available from the support page and this can be updated by using a USB stick/flash drive.

    I can inform you guys I have sent this further for investigation.

    @Majorusa thank you for another upload.

    Best regards,
    Benedickte
    Forum Mod

  2. #92
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,552, Level: 11
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 298
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    47
    Points
    1,552
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Benedickte View Post
    Hi G, and Stephan.

    Tha latest (133.5) is available from the support page and this can be updated by using a USB stick/flash drive.

    I can inform you guys I have sent this further for investigation.

    @Majorusa thank you for another upload.

    Best regards,
    Benedickte
    Hi Benedickte,

    Since Philips is not clearly mentioning that the 133.5 version will fix that issue, I assume that nothing will radically improve on upgrade. I will how ever do it this afternoon and reply about the process.

    Thanks,
    G.

  3. #93
    Bronze Member
    Points: 246, Level: 2
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    sweden
    Posts
    13
    Points
    246
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Inow run the 133.5 version and there is no change in picture still same problem.
    Quote Originally Posted by gstan80 View Post
    Hi Benedickte,

    Since Philips is not clearly mentioning that the 133.5 version will fix that issue, I assume that nothing will radically improve on upgrade. I will how ever do it this afternoon and reply about the process.

    Thanks,
    G.

  4. #94
    New Member
    Points: 201, Level: 2
    Level completed: 51%, Points required for next Level: 49
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Sverige
    Posts
    1
    Points
    201
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I'm looking around for a new tv and liked this model alot with the ambilights, but then i did see this thread about this problem and now i don't know if it worth to buy it.
    But if i want a tv with ambilight 3 i doesn't have much to choose from other than this one.

    How big do you guys think the problem is, is it worth to buy this tv or should i find something else if this doesn't get fixed?

  5. #95
    Bronze Member
    Points: 234, Level: 2
    Level completed: 84%, Points required for next Level: 16
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    10
    Points
    234
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Today I had a visit from a repair guy to fix an ambilight LED that was incorrectly mounted. I asked him about the motion issue, but he hadn't heard about it. Based on my explanation his thoughts were, that it is hardware and not software related Ofcause that was just his thoughts...

    On a sidenote, a previous post mentioned that the panel could be from LG. This I can confirm as a sticker on the back of the panel said LG. One could hope, that since LG doesn't have these problems, maybe it can be fixed via a software update?!
    Last edited by Herzie; 09-25-2012 at 06:51 AM.

  6. #96
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,467, Level: 17
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 383
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Cluj, Romania
    Posts
    123
    Points
    3,467
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Dear Benedikte,

    I want to give you a benchmark that your development team to use in tracking this issue. Here is the original video:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bDzcn...layer_embedded

    Here is what this video looks on 42PFL6007K - Sorry for the shaky camera.



    The point is that the HDNM function does not process in a correct manner the vertical lines moving with speed and this is happening regardless the source: the first video with the History channel logo was from DVB-C, the one with the prison was from a mediaplyer playing web content through HDMI and this video is from youtube player in Smart TV. This inability of processing the vertical lines is the reason for which people are complaining about ghosting etc.

    It will be interesting to know if this is the case with 7xx7 and 8xx7 series too or is just localized at the 6xx7 series.

    I thing that you have enough proof to acknowledge this issue and to state that you are trying to solve it. I am looking forward for a quick solving of this very annoying issue present both in 2D and 3D. In 3D is even more disturbing since the broken lines gain spatial dimensions.

    I am looking forward for your answer.

  7. #97
    Silver Member
    Points: 591, Level: 6
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 159
    Overall activity: 30.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredNew Achievement!500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    102
    Points
    591
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by majorusa View Post
    Dear Benedikte,

    I want to give you a benchmark that your development team to use in tracking this issue. Here is the original video:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bDzcn...layer_embedded

    Here is what this video looks on 42PFL6007K - Sorry for the shaky camera.



    The point is that the HDNM function does not process in a correct manner the vertical lines moving with speed and this is happening regardless the source: the first video with the History channel logo was from DVB-C, the one with the prison was from a mediaplyer playing web content through HDMI and this video is from youtube player in Smart TV. This inability of processing the vertical lines is the reason for which people are complaining about ghosting etc.

    It will be interesting to know if this is the case with 7xx7 and 8xx7 series too or is just localized at the 6xx7 series.

    I thing that you have enough proof to acknowledge this issue and to state that you are trying to solve it. I am looking forward for a quick solving of this very annoying issue present both in 2D and 3D. In 3D is even more disturbing since the broken lines gain spatial dimensions.

    I am looking forward for your answer.
    majorusa can you clear something up for me, if you turn off HDNM does the problem go away?

  8. #98
    Bronze Member
    Points: 234, Level: 2
    Level completed: 84%, Points required for next Level: 16
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    10
    Points
    234
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Just to let you guys know today the ambilight LED had come loose again. Infocare wanted to take it in for a 10 days repair. That was the last straw for me, so I took the TV back and exchanged it for a LG 47LM860V. Sadly I already miss ambilight, but still picture quality must come first.

    Fingers crossed that you guys will have your problems solved.

  9. #99
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,552, Level: 11
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 298
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    47
    Points
    1,552
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks one more time majousa. Well Philips? Wehre is your answer? I think I will also return the tv. It does not make any sense to wait for something I will never get.. an official answer from your tech experts.

  10. #100
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,388, Level: 10
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 162
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    176
    Points
    1,388
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Herzie View Post
    Just to let you guys know today the ambilight LED had come loose again. Infocare wanted to take it in for a 10 days repair. That was the last straw for me, so I took the TV back and exchanged it for a LG 47LM860V. Sadly I already miss ambilight, but still picture quality must come first.

    Fingers crossed that you guys will have your problems solved.
    Same loose ambilight....
    Same judder problem that is mostly annoying on 3D (my feeling)

    So should I be next to return my TV...

    I also just registered to complain about the lack of official statement after one month. I've been following up Majorusa's work (thanks by the way).

  11. #101
    Silver Member
    Points: 591, Level: 6
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 159
    Overall activity: 30.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredNew Achievement!500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    102
    Points
    591
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Is lg a better picture? Or just better motion?

  12. #102
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,552, Level: 11
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 298
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    47
    Points
    1,552
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Herzie View Post
    Just to let you guys know today the ambilight LED had come loose again. Infocare wanted to take it in for a 10 days repair. That was the last straw for me, so I took the TV back and exchanged it for a LG 47LM860V. Sadly I already miss ambilight, but still picture quality must come first.

    Fingers crossed that you guys will have your problems solved.
    Hi Herzie,

    Could you please let us know about the other tv you got? Is there any difference? Please PM us about it. Thanks!
    G

  13. #103
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,552, Level: 11
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 298
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    47
    Points
    1,552
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mrb1972 View Post
    majorusa can you clear something up for me, if you turn off HDNM does the problem go away?
    Hi mrb1972,

    The problem is gone with Perfect Natural Motion off and you get gosting on everything instead like at a 50hz TV.

  14. #104
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,467, Level: 17
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 383
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Cluj, Romania
    Posts
    123
    Points
    3,467
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    I second your answer gstan80. The motion without the HDNM is so bad that sometimes I think I can see the individual frames of the picture. I am exaggerating but the judder with HDNM off is really bad.

  15. #105
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,552, Level: 11
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 298
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    47
    Points
    1,552
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by majorusa View Post
    I second your answer gstan80. The motion without the HDNM is so bad that sometimes I think I can see the individual frames of the picture. I am exaggerating but the judder with HDNM off is really bad.
    Right! I think any spears moving scene can show clearly the problem..

Page 7 of 30 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •