Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,846, Level: 11
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    15
    Points
    1,846
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Firmware upgrade via Internet on 47PFL8404H/12

    I tried to upgrade my 47PFL8404H firmware to the latest Version 000.026.078.000 from 000.026.076.000 via Internet. I always got the message: "No new Software Version available", which is not true (as stated in the support page). Is this a bug or a feature? Is this a problem of my FTV or of the Philips server side?
    Upgrading my BDP7300 which is connected through the same switch as the FTV worked smoothly. NetTv works as well.

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,798, Level: 11
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 52
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    16
    Points
    1,798
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I contacted Philips support about this. They told me that the direct internet updat always lag's behind the online download of firmware. A bit odd, it probably takes them some time to put the firmware on the server that your TV connects to, but it should not be that big a problem for them.
    But allas, just check the Philips site regularly and updat via USB

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,846, Level: 11
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    15
    Points
    1,846
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Well, Yes that's what i keep doing....
    However, since Internet update is a published convenience Feature i had paid for, the lack of it is a product malfunction that should Be fixet by the manufacturer!

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,014, Level: 12
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    73
    Points
    2,014
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    I wonder if that internet update even works. I have a different TV than you guys (40pfl8605), but I only got 1 internet update coming through automatically ; when I first connected it to internet. Afterwards never again. When I came accross this internet site, I saw already 3 or 4 new updates had been available, but my tv never installed them... More then 1.5 months had passed or so.... Now I always use the usb stick to upgrade

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,574, Level: 11
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 276
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Le Marche, Italy
    Posts
    12
    Points
    1,574
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have a 42fpl8404 with same issues as above. I am definitely a non-techie and new to multimedia etc. Bought this tv as it claimed to do everything I needed, but does not. This issue of software upgrade (i.e. automatically on startup) is one of many shortcomings.

    This thread was started 6 weeks ago, and still the internet upgrade does not work. Could Philips moderator please tell us if the internet upgrade feature will work, and when?

    In the meantime, it's back to the user manual (not that easy to use) to work out the 'usb' method.

    Philips: Don't you know that there are us ''senior'' citizens out here, without pc training, really struggling!!

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,574, Level: 11
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 276
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Le Marche, Italy
    Posts
    12
    Points
    1,574
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Daniel03 View Post
    Well, Yes that's what i keep doing....
    However, since Internet update is a published convenience Feature i had paid for, the lack of it is a product malfunction that should Be fixet by the manufacturer!
    Agreed! Now December and it doesn't upgrade.

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,688, Level: 11
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 162
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    44
    Points
    1,688
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    i have 32pfl9604 and same problems.
    I monitored some traffic on my router and found that in some cases there is a DNS response problems, but not always.
    In any case upgrade does not works.

  8. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,349, Level: 9
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 1
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    30
    Points
    1,349
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The possibility to update the firmware via internet is country-dependent. That's a setting that can be changed in the TV-set itself by authorized staff, only.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •