Results 1 to 3 of 3
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 356, Level: 4
    Level completed: 6%, Points required for next Level: 94
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    6
    Points
    356
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Question Connecting external aerial when there is no connector?

    I have just received my DCB2020/05 (sent as warranty replacement for DCB152, now out of Phillips stock). Like the DCB152, my location means DAB not receivable on supplied (wired in) indoor aerial (but FM OK); user's guide says to connect to external aerial but, unlike the DCB152, there is no external aerial connector. The only way I can see to do this is to cut the lead of the wired-in indoor aerial and connect to a suitable coax socket for connection to external aerial. Has anyone any alternative suggestion to this rather tedious solution?

    I have asked Phillips customer support about this but, whilst awaiting response, wondered if anyone on the forum can help.

    Regards

    DavidF1940
    Last edited by DavidF1940; 08-18-2012 at 11:44 AM. Reason: To add "FM OK"

  2. #2
    New Member
    Points: 277, Level: 3
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 73
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    bishops stortford
    Posts
    2
    Points
    277
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    [QUOTE=DavidF1940;38983]I have just received my DCB2020/05 (sent as warranty replacement for DCB152, now out of Phillips stock). Like the DCB152, my location means DAB not receivable on supplied (wired in) indoor aerial (but FM OK); user's guide says to connect to external aerial but, unlike the DCB152, there is no external aerial connector. The only way I can see to do this is to cut the lead of the wired-in indoor aerial and connect to a suitable coax socket for connection to external aerial. Has anyone any alternative suggestion to this rather tedious solution?

    I also had this problem of no indoor DAB reception. So I took the plunge and chopped the end off the supplied antenna feeder to fix a coax connector (via a very old TV balun which may be the wrong frequency range). Works fine, but is the guarantee invalidated ?

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 356, Level: 4
    Level completed: 6%, Points required for next Level: 94
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    6
    Points
    356
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks luggsie. I'll give it a go when I have a moment.

    I have told Customer Supportabout the problem. Their tech guys say "there may be a misprint in user manual", and asked for a photo of back of receiver! No comment made about warranty but as my warranty on original buy is up, there's not much to lose.

    Cheers

Similar Topics

  1. RF_In connector problem?
    By agmarco in forum TV: Installation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-29-2012, 09:51 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-16-2012, 02:52 PM
  3. connecting philips 4000 series to external speakers
    By cscott5288 in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-13-2012, 12:46 PM
  4. 32PFL5606H - does it have a vga connector?
    By mkt in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-31-2011, 10:11 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •