Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,804, Level: 11
    Level completed: 85%, Points required for next Level: 46
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2
    Points
    1,804
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Known bugs, wishlist & status report?

    It would be nice to have a list of known and confirmed bugs and a wishlist that Philips support knows with a plan to fix it and maybe voting system (like in ideas) that we may vote what should be fixed first.

    With a bug there should be also ETA for a fix (in what release it will be fixed).

    Sometimes there is a known problem and even whitepapers available but only for internal use and it would be handy to be able to seek and reference something when calling support.

    my wish for the wishlist.
    Subtitles for streaming media/usb.

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,951, Level: 12
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Italy / FVG
    Posts
    101
    Points
    1,951
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    It would be great and I already posted my whishlist many weeks ago, but Philips already told us it is not possible :-(

  3. #3
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    I also think it is a good idea, but I think Philips thinks the opposite. This is why they closed down a part of this forum.
    I have a big bug list (around 20 issues) for the 9705...

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,068, Level: 12
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    JuAn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    44
    Points
    2,068
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by petasis View Post
    I also think it is a good idea, but I think Philips thinks the opposite. This is why they closed down a part of this forum. I have a big bug list (around 20 issues) for the 9705...
    Not tru, they have re-activated it again under "Archive".
    However you can not post to it any more. Maybe in the near future?
    At least we can find our 'old' posts back.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 1,585, Level: 11
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 265
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,585
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I would like to know if it is possible to add Subtitles (*.srt , *.sub) support to the firmware? Is it a hardware issue or software issue ? I belive that LG and Samsung have support for these files standard in their fws.
    Regards

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,546, Level: 10
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    dellamag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Tuscany/Italy
    Posts
    24
    Points
    1,546
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Lightbulb 42pfl7655m/08

    My Wish List
    - add .mts support reading. I'm asking to provide H264/AVC (which is already supported, but in mkv container) reading in a .mts container (bluray).


    My Bug List
    - order USB connected device root folders in alphabetical order. They are showing in random order, so if you have many folders it is difficult to navigate to the desired folder. Please solve it as soon as possible !
    - .mkv @1080p are displayed not in a fluid way, but they are very choppy. Same files reproduced with another device are very fluid without any chop. I guess it is a data stream speed limit due to hardware circuit limitation or is it a software problem to be improved ? THe choppy/judder problem is once every 1.5 sec
    - add subtitles (.srt) support display
    - .mkv rewinding and forwarding does not work at all ! TV get stucked and need to be power cycled !
    Last edited by dellamag; 01-12-2011 at 01:11 PM.

  7. #7
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,582, Level: 69
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 568
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,985
    Points
    50,582
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 171 Times in 153 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    1) try to rename the mts to mkv...
    2) as far as I know they are ordered by "last modified" - I also remarked this before. That ordering is not good - just give the user the option to change the order in the option menu. This also applies to the BDPs. A folder with numbered images is not very searchable with the actual ordering.

    Toengel@Alex

  8. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,288, Level: 13
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 162
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    17
    Points
    2,288
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,
    Very nice idea! It will be good that we can follow the issue for all the trouble known till yet... All benefit for Philips and for us. I agree.
    ;-)

  9. #9
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,546, Level: 10
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    dellamag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Tuscany/Italy
    Posts
    24
    Points
    1,546
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    1) try to rename the mts to mkv...

    Toengel@Alex
    Already tried, this doesn't work at all !!!

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,064, Level: 12
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 86
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    PARIS- FRANCE
    Posts
    21
    Points
    2,064
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by dellamag View Post
    My Wish List
    - add .mts support reading. I'm asking to provide H264/AVC (which is already supported, but in mkv container) reading in a .mts container (bluray).


    My Bug List
    - order USB connected device root folders in alphabetical order. They are showing in random order, so if you have many folders it is difficult to navigate to the desired folder. Please solve it as soon as possible !
    - .mkv @1080p are displayed not in a fluid way, but they are very choppy. Same files reproduced with another device are very fluid without any chop. I guess it is a data stream speed limit due to hardware circuit limitation or is it a software problem to be improved ? THe choppy/judder problem is once every 1.5 sec
    - add subtitles (.srt) support display
    - .mkv rewinding and forwarding does not work at all ! TV get stucked and need to be power cycled !

    hi
    i m from france and I have a 40PFL8605H12
    regarding " .mkv rewinding and forwarding does not work at all ! TV get stucked and need to be power cycled ![/QUOTE]
    " ist due to the buffer memory of the TV which is not enough big when you play through the network, perhaps if you try to read this mkv files through the usb it could work.
    i have also a HTS 9140 and when i try to play a mkv file through the network with my hts rewinding and forwarding work becaus the buiffer memory is better.
    That's the resason philips give to me

  11. #11
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,546, Level: 10
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    dellamag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Tuscany/Italy
    Posts
    24
    Points
    1,546
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by frgall View Post
    hi
    i m from france and I have a 40PFL8605H12
    regarding " .mkv rewinding and forwarding does not work at all ! TV get stucked and need to be power cycled !
    " ist due to the buffer memory of the TV which is not enough big when you play through the network, perhaps if you try to read this mkv files through the usb it could work.
    I'm trying to read the .mkv files from USB not from network !!! When rewind and forward a .mkv file from USB, the TV get stuck and need to be rebooted.

  12. #12
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,951, Level: 12
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Italy / FVG
    Posts
    101
    Points
    1,951
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by dellamag View Post
    I'm trying to read the .mkv files from USB not from network !!! When rewind and forward a .mkv file from USB, the TV get stuck and need to be rebooted.
    Tha same happens to my 37PFL7605: it's really frustrating and makes use of mkv via USB almost impossible with these TV sets!

  13. #13
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,546, Level: 10
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    dellamag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Tuscany/Italy
    Posts
    24
    Points
    1,546
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Another issue to fix:
    let's say the TV is ON and it is forced in standby mode through the remote control. Then the user hardware switch off and after then the user hardware switches the TV on. The software will boot with a double PHILIPS screen logo and then it will go in STANDBY MODE !!! What is the reason for the TV to go in STANDBY mode when TV is switched ON ?!? Usual use is: I switch the TV ON because I want my TV ON, not in STANDBY. Please Philips technicians explain why this happens. Please fix it as soon as possible.

  14. #14
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,546, Level: 10
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    dellamag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Tuscany/Italy
    Posts
    24
    Points
    1,546
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by dellamag View Post
    My Wish List
    - .mkv @1080p are displayed not in a fluid way, but they are very choppy. Same files reproduced with another device are very fluid without any chop. I guess it is a data stream speed limit due to hardware circuit limitation or is it a software problem to be improved ? THe choppy/judder problem is once every 1.5 sec
    Yesterday evening I had more time to test some .mkv files through LAN. My TV was connected to my PC through a wired ethernet LAN cable. Media server on PC is TVersity 1.9.3. When I watched 24 fps .mkv files both @1080p and 720p resolution I had recurrent judder problems (maybe one every sec). Then I started to watch a 25fps .mkv file @720p and there was no judder problem: the video was displaying correctly without any chop/judder. I checed on the file format support .xls documentation provided on this forum and the .mkv section states 24 fps. Well, that is very strange, as said above, 24 fps .mkv are played with judder regardless of its resolution while 25 fps .mkv plays well. Could Philips take care of this in the future firmware releases ? I'm not an encoding/format expert, so I could even say unexact things, but please be aware that I would like this issue to be solved so please Philips ask me more details in case the description is not comprehensive.

  15. #15
    Moderator
    Points: 76,044, Level: 85
    Level completed: 71%, Points required for next Level: 506
    Overall activity: 47.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    810
    Points
    76,044
    Level
    85
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by dellamag View Post
    Another issue to fix:
    let's say the TV is ON and it is forced in standby mode through the remote control. Then the user hardware switch off and after then the user hardware switches the TV on. The software will boot with a double PHILIPS screen logo and then it will go in STANDBY MODE !!! What is the reason for the TV to go in STANDBY mode when TV is switched ON ?!? Usual use is: I switch the TV ON because I want my TV ON, not in STANDBY. Please Philips technicians explain why this happens. Please fix it as soon as possible.
    Hi Dellamag,

    This behaviour is normal for the TV: it remembers the last status (in your case "standby") and after switch off/on it returns to that status. The reason that the logo appaers has to do with the fact that the TV has to start-up before it can read this last status!
    Forum Mod

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •