Results 1 to 7 of 7

Topic: Usb 3

  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 643, Level: 6
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 107
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Landes/France
    Posts
    33
    Points
    643
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Usb 3

    On my 55PFL8007K/12:
    are all three USB connectors, USB3.0. ?

    Bob

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,193, Level: 69
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 957
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,960
    Points
    50,193
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 168 Times in 150 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    no - should be USB 2.0 connectors. But you should be able to use USB3 Harddrives (to be sure, use external power supply for these HDDs).

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 369, Level: 4
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 81
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Delft. The Netherlands
    Posts
    5
    Points
    369
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    no - should be USB 2.0 connectors. But you should be able to use USB3 Harddrives (to be sure, use external power supply for these HDDs).

    Toengel@Alex
    This is right. I think external powersupply should be recommended by Philips, especially for larger disks. I bought myself a supermodern WD usb3 1TB harddisk and cannot use it because of powerproblems, which slows the disk down.
    This is a problem only connected with tv's, not pc's
    Last edited by Amazone; 08-09-2012 at 10:35 AM.

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,193, Level: 69
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 957
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,960
    Points
    50,193
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 168 Times in 150 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    the main problem is the spin up power of the USB drives. The TV delivers only 500mAh (as stated in USB specifications), but many drives need more power to spin up...

    For TVs it's better to buy USB2-HDDs...

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 643, Level: 6
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 107
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Landes/France
    Posts
    33
    Points
    643
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    the WD usb3 1TB was exactly what I had in mind to buy for my tv....
    Can you give any recommendations for a drive which will work very well on this tv.

    Many thanks

    Bob

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 643, Level: 6
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 107
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Landes/France
    Posts
    33
    Points
    643
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Just bought a 32G USB key... thinking that that would be the best and cheapest solution, hearing about those spin-on power limits.... 25€ !

    But when the formatting started, the machine told me: "at least 48G needed.... and recommended to use a 25OG or more H/D"...

    Wasn't this really not something on which Philips could have send a warning: here , or in the start-up manual. No, this is not funny !

    Would the WE "Elements" 1TB (USB2.0...an old one I have on my computer) be good enough ? Or are there any better suggestions ?

    Bob

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 369, Level: 4
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 81
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Delft. The Netherlands
    Posts
    5
    Points
    369
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Lafaurie80 View Post
    Just bought a 32G USB key... thinking that that would be the best and cheapest solution, hearing about those spin-on power limits.... 25€ !

    But when the formatting started, the machine told me: "at least 48G needed.... and recommended to use a 25OG or more H/D"...

    Wasn't this really not something on which Philips could have send a warning: here , or in the start-up manual. No, this is not funny !

    Would the WE "Elements" 1TB (USB2.0...an old one I have on my computer) be good enough ? Or are there any better suggestions ?

    Bob
    I am sorry to hear you made that mistake.
    I got a warning before format that you needed 250gb for recording... the 32gb would function for nettv downloading of movies etc

    The WE ''Elements sounds fine, USB2 is a safe choice (is it a My book with powersupply?)
    External powersupply is also a safe choice.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •