Results 1 to 5 of 5
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,707, Level: 14
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 43
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    43
    Points
    2,707
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0

    55PFL6007T and Auto-Fill

    Hi everybody

    On my old Philips model, whenever watching something in 4:3 format, the auto-fill option would stretch the image, to get rid of the black side bars.

    On this model, it dosen't seem to do anything ? - what's the point of having this option if it dosen't work ?

    I know we are in 2012, but there is still a lot of 4:3 shows around, and it is kind of a downside when having a 55 inch TV, and then not being able to fill out the whole image.

    Am I doing something wrong ?

    snowatom

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 61,502, Level: 76
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 148
    Overall activity: 72.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,360
    Points
    61,502
    Level
    76
    Thanks
    185
    Thanked 230 Times in 207 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    many broadcaster add black bars to 4:3 content to create a 16:9 stream. Consequently, your TV receives a 16:9 video and you will have the black bars on the left/right.

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,707, Level: 14
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 43
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    43
    Points
    2,707
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Well that sounds right, but still, how come my old Philips model was smarter than the new one ?
    The old one could stretch the image no matter what, I miss that.

    snowatom

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 61,502, Level: 76
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 148
    Overall activity: 72.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,360
    Points
    61,502
    Level
    76
    Thanks
    185
    Thanked 230 Times in 207 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    did you watch digital channels or analogue on your old TV?

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,707, Level: 14
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 43
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    43
    Points
    2,707
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    I watched both digital and analouge. It worked on both.

    snowatom

Similar Topics

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-30-2012, 04:55 AM
  2. Auto fill does not work properly
    By pjpaul in forum TV Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-12-2012, 12:52 PM
  3. Auto Fill & Auto Zoom
    By elihay in forum TV: Software 2013 models and older
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-24-2011, 10:40 AM
  4. BUG: Auto-fill and auto-zoom feature doesn't work on HDMI after power cycle
    By user in forum TV: Software 2013 models and older
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 05-10-2011, 04:56 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-28-2011, 06:42 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •