Results 1 to 2 of 2
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 237, Level: 2
    Level completed: 87%, Points required for next Level: 13
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    1
    Points
    237
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Unhappy 32PFL3517H and switching between HDMI ports (2 computers)

    I'm a new owner of the 32PFL3517H TV and I have a few issues/questions already.

    My "complex setup" is as follows:

    HDMI Side port: Windows 7 laptop (TV configured as "extended desktop", so both displays are on)
    HDMI port 1: Windows XP computer (TV being the only display for this computer)

    1)
    When I switch from laptop to computer (using either SOURCE or HOME keys on the remote controller), some applications on the laptop will be "thrown" to the main laptop's display. I know this is also a Windows feature (i.e. when physically disconnecting an external display, all applications are moved to the main display, and returned when re-plugging). In this case, they're just moved to the primary laptop display (despite the fact that the TV remains connected), so I have to rearrange them when I switch back to laptop (Winamp, for example, is not moved).
    (In some cases the applications remained on the TV screen, but they were thrown to the laptop's display when I was switching BACK from the other computer to the laptop).
    Is this a bug or a feature? In any case, are there any workarounds?

    2)
    When I switch from laptop to computer, the input is not recognized -- I get "No Signal" displayed, and I have to unplug and plug back the computer's HDMI in order to get the picture. Not sure if this is safe, but so far it seems the only way to make it work (apart from completely restarting the computer and starting the "session" on that port/computer).

    Bottom line is, I'd like to be able to switch between the two computers smoothly and without the aforementioned annoyances. Is it doable?
    (And yes, all patches and upgrades are installed, and all drivers (including the TV's firmware) are up-to-date on both computers.)

    By the way, are there any differences between the three HDMI ports, or are they all equal?

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 9,766, Level: 29
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 184
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Overdrive
    Philips - Benedickte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,015
    Points
    9,766
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Alf3000 View Post
    I'm a new owner of the 32PFL3517H TV and I have a few issues/questions already.

    My "complex setup" is as follows:

    HDMI Side port: Windows 7 laptop (TV configured as "extended desktop", so both displays are on)
    HDMI port 1: Windows XP computer (TV being the only display for this computer)

    1)
    When I switch from laptop to computer (using either SOURCE or HOME keys on the remote controller), some applications on the laptop will be "thrown" to the main laptop's display. I know this is also a Windows feature (i.e. when physically disconnecting an external display, all applications are moved to the main display, and returned when re-plugging). In this case, they're just moved to the primary laptop display (despite the fact that the TV remains connected), so I have to rearrange them when I switch back to laptop (Winamp, for example, is not moved).
    (In some cases the applications remained on the TV screen, but they were thrown to the laptop's display when I was switching BACK from the other computer to the laptop).
    Is this a bug or a feature? In any case, are there any workarounds?

    2)
    When I switch from laptop to computer, the input is not recognized -- I get "No Signal" displayed, and I have to unplug and plug back the computer's HDMI in order to get the picture. Not sure if this is safe, but so far it seems the only way to make it work (apart from completely restarting the computer and starting the "session" on that port/computer).

    Bottom line is, I'd like to be able to switch between the two computers smoothly and without the aforementioned annoyances. Is it doable?
    (And yes, all patches and upgrades are installed, and all drivers (including the TV's firmware) are up-to-date on both computers.)

    By the way, are there any differences between the three HDMI ports, or are they all equal?

    Hi Alf3000.

    Welcome to the forum.

    1. This is a Windows feature so normal behavior.

    2. Could you please confirm to me what graphics card you got in your PC?
    What have you added this PC as device on the TV? (Computer, blu-ray, not added)


    All the HDMI inputs are the same. Only difference is that HDMI1 is ARC compatible, so this is often used for sound systems/ home theater systems.


    Best regards,
    Benedickte
    Forum Mod

Similar Topics

  1. how to connect to my computers??
    By MCCM in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-04-2012, 06:38 PM
  2. Sound drops when switching hdmi devices
    By Dutchtv in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-04-2012, 11:43 AM
  3. 42PFL8404 TV does not recognise HDMI switching
    By JethroUK in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-11-2012, 09:34 PM
  4. HDMI ports don´t recognize devices
    By Ivanspain in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-10-2012, 06:20 PM
  5. Audio problem when switching on HDMI interfaces
    By CronoS in forum TV: Software 2010 models
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 01-11-2012, 11:06 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •