Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Gold Member
    Points: 9,558, Level: 29
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 392
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsVeteran
    bluevoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    Posts
    365
    Points
    9,558
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 10 Posts
    Rep Power
    4

    Unhappy MKV support over USB on Philips Cinema Gold TV

    I own a Philips Cinema Gold TV (50PFL7956H/12) running firmware 14.80. I cannot play any single MKV file over USB. The TV gives an error message saying: "File cannot be read of found".

    The curious thing is that when I try to play the same MKV file over USB on my Philips BDP8000 Bluray player it plays without a problem? Is this a bug or a restriction on the Philips Cinema Gold TV?

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,097, Level: 72
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 453
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,178
    Points
    55,097
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    can you post the codec info of one of the non-working MKV files? Please use Mediainfo (mediainfo.sourceforge.net) in text mode!

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Gold Member
    Points: 9,558, Level: 29
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 392
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsVeteran
    bluevoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    Posts
    365
    Points
    9,558
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 10 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Yes, but I'm away from home for a couple of days, I'll post the info when I get back next Thursday.

  4. #4
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    639
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    If the MKV file has a DTS track (even if it is not the only audio track), it will not be played by a Philips TV.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 895, Level: 7
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 55
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Reuver - Holland
    Posts
    1
    Points
    895
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I can not play MKV files from my USB stick to the TV 40PFL9705

    Can someone help me with it? thanks

  6. #6
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,097, Level: 72
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 453
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,178
    Points
    55,097
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    please see post 2 of this thread...

    Toengel@Alex

  7. #7
    Gold Member
    Points: 9,558, Level: 29
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 392
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsVeteran
    bluevoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    Posts
    365
    Points
    9,558
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 10 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    @Toengel: I checked it, the mkv files that can't be played all have a DTS track. Why won't it work? Can't the tv process the dts signal?

  8. #8
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,097, Level: 72
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 453
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,178
    Points
    55,097
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    right, no DTS codec is included...

    Toengel@Alex

  9. #9
    Gold Member
    Points: 9,558, Level: 29
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 392
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsVeteran
    bluevoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    Posts
    365
    Points
    9,558
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 10 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    But the DTS codec is included on the Philips Bluray players. Why exclude it on the TV's why the difference?

  10. #10
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,097, Level: 72
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 453
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,178
    Points
    55,097
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    DTS is not necessary for viewing TV broadcasts. So it's only a add-on. But for this add-on you need to pay licence fees... The TV is only a basic media player...

    Toengel@Alex

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 1,086, Level: 8
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 64
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1
    Points
    1,086
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Toengel,

    thanks for the comprehensive information on this question.

    Now if one had a modern AVR attached to a Philips TV via HDMI 1.4 ARC - would it be
    a) theoretically possible to have the TV set's media player demux the MKV into separate video and audio streams and pass the audio stream - be it DTS or other - to the AVR?
    b) practically possible to get this to work in a 2010 Philips TV (PFL8605K) for DLNA-streamed MKVs?
    or
    c) alternatively possible to get an AVR to do the MKV demuxing and pass only the video stream on to the Philips TV?

    Best regards
    Jorje

  12. #12
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,097, Level: 72
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 453
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,178
    Points
    55,097
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    if a video file contains DTS, the TV does not even try to play the file. You need to have a media server which also converts the audio on the fly...

    I suggest to take a look at the Philips Home Media Player (HMP3000, HMP5000, ...). These small boxes can play everything - even BD and DVD ISO files (see FAQ of these devices for codec support).

    Toengel@Alex

  13. #13
    New Member
    Points: 794, Level: 7
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 156
    Overall activity: 80.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2
    Points
    794
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    They dont even have DTS support on their most expenisive and new televisions. They should atleast have it on their Cinema gold and platinum since it's made for cinema and not television. I haven't even connected the antenna. It's a shame they don't pay $1.50 per televison set to make them compatible. I could get a sumsung with everything way cheaper. This is my third Cinema Television set, was hoping for more compatibility when I bought the latest Platinum 58PFL9956. And I still need to buy a $200 Xtreamer to get it to play everything. Wanted the media player inside the tv for better quality and it is when you remake every DTS stream to AC3 however it's a pain in the ass to do that. As soon anybody else makes Cinema Format television I will literaly be forced to switch to another manufacturer because Philips is to cheap to include something so simple as DTS. They should made the cinema format televisions with DTS support from start because it's not made for watching television. sure I could watch but everyboidy will have a fat ass and wrong proportions. and television studios are satisfied with wide screen so we will never get television in cinema format mutch tv is in the 4:3 format and it looks even worst. So saying Cinema format television sets are made for watching television is a lie because it looks like garbage. I Have like 400 titles on Blu Ray and it's what I am using it for. So adding DTS should be a priority. Hell I am willing to pay for a firmware with DTS support just make one, I am sure there are people who also pay just for this feauture. Almost all sound is DTS now AC3 is ancient. Giving a TV MKV support but without DTS is a joke, a bad one...
    Last edited by Skevus; 12-03-2011 at 11:48 PM.

  14. #14
    Gold Member
    Points: 1,885, Level: 12
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 265
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    276
    Points
    1,885
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Skevus View Post
    ...
    Long Story short.
    this is your third Philips TV, before you bought this one you knew that you need DTS Suppoprt, you knew from you last 2 Devices that Philips does not have DTS support, so instead of thinking what you really want, you just bought this one to complain about a feature which is missing since decades....

  15. #15
    New Member
    Points: 794, Level: 7
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 156
    Overall activity: 80.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2
    Points
    794
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by a_Tom View Post
    Long Story short.
    this is your third Philips TV, before you bought this one you knew that you need DTS Suppoprt, you knew from you last 2 Devices that Philips does not have DTS support, so instead of thinking what you really want, you just bought this one to complain about a feature which is missing since decades....
    It's like my 6th Philips, first was a wide screen matchline. The Cinema format is addictiv, If you find me another manufacturer with this format I will switch to it. I know it is Sharp that makes the LCD panels but they don't make TV sets with the Cinema format. I am one of those people who want to eat my cake and have it to, so I am solving this by Buying a Xtreamer Prodigy 3D. I would have gladely payed those money to Philips if they included DTS. However Philips isn't alone, LG is also cheap however you can play those movies without sound. It's better then nothing. I don't care how mutch it costs Philips should have made the option available to cotumers since there clearly is a demand. They could have named it DTS or Pro or what ever and sold them for a little more money. I hate when it's possible but impossible to buy. well I will have to be satisfied with my Xtreamer Prodigy 3D for now.

    P.S it's easyer to buy a mediaplayer then change the format of the LCD panel, That is why I bought the Cinema Platinum...
    Last edited by Skevus; 12-05-2011 at 07:56 AM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-14-2011, 02:37 PM
  2. No picture on Philips Cinema Gold TV
    By bluevoice in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-02-2011, 02:45 PM
  3. Cinema 21:9 Gold Picture Format and Wireless Issue
    By smith in forum TV: Software 2011 models
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-25-2011, 09:18 AM
  4. [Wish] .MKV Profile 5.1 support
    By stoyan89 in forum Blu-ray: Share Your Wish List and Insights
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-14-2011, 08:50 AM
  5. SUPPORT HELP: another MKV audio problem
    By theflyer1972 in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-04-2011, 09:39 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •