Results 1 to 5 of 5
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 257, Level: 3
    Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 93
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Utrecht
    Posts
    10
    Points
    257
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    52pfl9606H/12 QNAP NAS Connectivity issues (Reboot)

    Hi,

    I'm the sad owner of a Philips 52pfl9606H/12 and like to hear if my story is similar to other people story.

    Since October last year I own the TV, I was happy with it until the display got distorted last August. I called Philips support they did some test and asked me to upgrade to software version 14.96. The display problem stayed but now the TV also started to have a random reboot. I thought the TV was completely breaking up and since a replacement was ordered 'ignored' it.
    Beginning of September I received a new TV from Philips, display was great but reboot problem stayed. So it wasn't the TV but IMHO opinion the software (TV came with version 14.96 and has since then gone from 14.99 to 14.101 all with the same problem).
    Again contacted support and they sent an engineer again. This engineer found INF/RBT software faults in the service menu and from other cases immediately asked me if I was using a Cisco router. Yes I have a Cisco/Linksys router (also the standard with Ziggo in NL), so apparently the TCP/IP communication between a Cisco router and the Philips software causes failures and results in a reboot of the TV. Solution: Disable networking! And yes that worked, but now half the functionality is gone.

    I want to know if there are other people with a similar setup and maybe similar issues. I run a Linksys e2000 and the 52pfl9606H/12 is connected via WLAN. For DLNA I have a QNAP NAS running TwonkyMedia 7.0.9.

    Thanks, a very unhappy Philips customer
    Last edited by weijte000; 10-08-2012 at 08:22 AM. Reason: Not Cisco/Linksys but QNAP NAS seems the problem

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 257, Level: 3
    Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 93
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Utrecht
    Posts
    10
    Points
    257
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    So I did a forum search and apparently I'm not the only one:

    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...ll=1#post33885

    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...hlight=linksys

    I some posts I found people have QNAP devices for DLNA, do people have QNAP and experience similar issues?
    Last edited by weijte000; 10-05-2012 at 01:14 PM.

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 257, Level: 3
    Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 93
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Utrecht
    Posts
    10
    Points
    257
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Because I saw similar problems with people using QNAP NAS devices I did some testing and it seems I can relate the problem to the NAS. If I remove my NAS from the network I don't have reboots on my TV, the moment I attach my QNAP I see reboot (INF) failures on the TV. I checked when I last updated and rebooted my QNAP NAS to version 3.7.3 Build0801, this was now 53 days ago about the time my problems started....
    ==> Have reverted back to the previous release of the firmware of the QNAP this didn't stop the TV from rebooting.

    Still it's strange the TV fails and reboots, I use the same network infrastructure for playing content on my iPad and Android tablet through DLNA and they work fine.
    Last edited by weijte000; 10-06-2012 at 10:47 PM. Reason: Added the QNAP firmware change

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 257, Level: 3
    Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 93
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Utrecht
    Posts
    10
    Points
    257
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Solved!!

    I was able to solve my problem by doing a factory reset and reconfigure on the relevant devices. Router (full factory reset, reboot), NAS (reload latest firmware, reboot), TV (load latest firmware, full power recycle).

    Since yesterday I'm runing my fulll infrastrcuture again and have NOT seen anymore reboots on the TV...

    Hope this can be benficial to others!

    /J

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Points: 84,734, Level: 90
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 816
    Overall activity: 99.4%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    847
    Points
    84,734
    Level
    90
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear all,

    I've created a sticky post with some tips (tnx "weijt000") how to solve/tackle these kind of undefined behaviours. Take a look here.

    Regards,
    JuAn
    Forum Mod

Similar Topics

  1. Latest Firmware Update does not fix Airplay connectivity issues DS9800W
    By zoyss in forum Sound: DS8000- and DS9000-series
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-06-2012, 01:00 PM
  2. Still reboot with latest firmware ( V1.20.149 )
    By ChefChaudart in forum Sound: Streamium MCi series (MCi900| Mci8080| MCi730| MCi500| MCi298)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-17-2012, 03:33 PM
  3. 40PFL5706/F7 WIFI Setup and Connectivity Issues
    By Dominus in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-23-2011, 10:09 AM
  4. HDMI connection from Cisco HD recorder with Cineos HD tv
    By gerenivonne in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-22-2011, 05:06 PM
  5. Reboot after logging in
    By lkwester in forum TV: Software 2009 models (and older)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-29-2010, 05:48 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •