Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,076, Level: 12
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 74
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Mario's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Berlin-City
    Posts
    23
    Points
    2,076
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Question How to expand a single USB Port?

    I'd like to ask a couple of questions before I replace my old Philips LCD with a new LED.

    Will I able to use an USB Hub with a 42PFL76xx LED TV, while it'll have only 1 USB port?

    My idea is to use the WiFi MediaConnect dongle w/o the need to plug it off when I want to play pictures from a USB Flash Drive each time...

    Any help would be appreciated

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 75,400, Level: 85
    Level completed: 33%, Points required for next Level: 1,150
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    810
    Points
    75,400
    Level
    85
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Yes, you can connect an USB hub (max. 5 extra USB ports).
    Best advice is to use an "active" hub (with external power supply).

    Connection of the WiFi dongle and an USB stick at the same time should work fine.
    Last edited by Philips; 07-13-2011 at 12:53 PM. Reason: Added info.
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,076, Level: 12
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 74
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Mario's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Berlin-City
    Posts
    23
    Points
    2,076
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips View Post
    Yes, you can connect an USB hub (max. 5 extra USB ports).
    Connection of the WiFi dongle and an USB stick at the same time should work fine.
    Great!

    Thank you for your fast response.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 884, Level: 7
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    4
    Points
    884
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Is the same solution for other model LED TV Philips?

    I have a new LED TV 32PFL6636. Can I use USB hub too? Thank you for your reply.

    Quote Originally Posted by Philips View Post
    Yes, you can connect an USB hub (max. 5 extra USB ports).
    Best advice is to use an "active" hub (with external power supply).

    Connection of the WiFi dongle and an USB stick at the same time should work fine.

  5. #5
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,163, Level: 69
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 987
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,958
    Points
    50,163
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 166 Times in 148 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    this should work, too.

    Toengel@Alex

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 884, Level: 7
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    4
    Points
    884
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Can you recomended concrete USB active hub for optimal using, for example producer, type? Thanks.

  7. #7
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,163, Level: 69
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 987
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,958
    Points
    50,163
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 166 Times in 148 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    no - I think it does not matter which you are buying. However, I think only 4 ports are supported.

    Toengel@Alex

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 884, Level: 7
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    4
    Points
    884
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thank a lot. I will buy and post message here about my result. Have a nice day.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 884, Level: 7
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    4
    Points
    884
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I bought usb active hub I-TEC, http://www.i-tec.cz/?t=3&v=138.
    When i connected with my TV and put AC adaptor to hub, TV was OFF and on the screen wrote message "Program not available".
    When i didnt use AC adaptor, all is OK. PTA01, external USB hdd Verbatim and laser mouse are ok together.
    Your opinion?

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •