Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 193, Level: 2
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 57
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    5
    Points
    193
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Angry DHCP problems Digital TV

    Hello,

    In Holland there is a new service from the digital network UPC called Horizon.

    The hardware is giving difficulties using Philips TV's , the so called HDCP errors.
    I can't watch television because the TV cannot handle the software. I only have sound when I disconnect the HDMI cable from my tv.

    Since my tv hasn't had a firmware update from philips since 2009 I can now not use this digital service.

    Could you tell me if Philips is currently working on a solution (with UPC?) to get this problem solved? If yes, what is the expectation regarding time, to have this problem solved?

    Best regards,

    Sylvester

  2. #2
    New Member
    Points: 193, Level: 2
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 57
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    5
    Points
    193
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Anybody from Philips care to respond?! I thought this was a support forum?!

  3. #3
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,099, Level: 69
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 51
    Overall activity: 74.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,025
    Points
    51,099
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    154
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    what TV do you have and which firmware is installed?

    HDCP is the copy protection mechanism of the HDMI protocol. So normally your TV should handle this, if your TV has HDMI inputs...

    Toengel@Alex

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 193, Level: 2
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 57
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    5
    Points
    193
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    I have model 42PFL7862D/10 , with the latest firmware installed (2009 software).

    This issue should be known by Philips, a lot of different types are having the same issues.

    That's why I would like to get a response from a Philips employee how this is going to be resolved.

    Sylvester

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Points: 9,766, Level: 29
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 184
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Overdrive
    Philips - Benedickte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,015
    Points
    9,766
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Sylvester View Post
    Hi,

    I have model 42PFL7862D/10 , with the latest firmware installed (2009 software).

    This issue should be known by Philips, a lot of different types are having the same issues.

    That's why I would like to get a response from a Philips employee how this is going to be resolved.

    Sylvester
    Hi Sylvester.

    Could you please explain a bit more what you are experiencing and how often this happens?

    Have you updated your digital box recently?If not, please check for any new updates on this too.

    Thank you.

    Best regards,
    Benedickte
    Forum Mod

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 193, Level: 2
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 57
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    5
    Points
    193
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Benedickte,

    As mentioned in my first post, UPC introduced a new digital service called : Horizon.
    They provide there customers with a new digital box.

    When I try to view television with this box combined with my Philips tv, the only thing I get to see is the software menu of the box. No digital tv signal is transferred (while having the HDMI cable plugged in).

    As soon as I unplug the HDMI cable the signal starts, how weird is that?!

    UPC already admitted that a lot of Philips tv's are experiencing this kind of troubles.

    So now I can only watch this HD digital service by Scart cable.

    Help?

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 153, Level: 2
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Ede
    Posts
    1
    Points
    153
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello, I am experiencing similar problems with my Philips 42PFL9664H/12 television.

    I recently got the Horizon UPC box, I had a different UPC box before that. Since then I experience weird behaviour: every couple of minutes or so, the screen gets a different shade (blue/green overlay). It sometimes disappears again after a couple of minutes, or switching between HDMI channels and back might do the trick.

    UPC Horizon is connected via HDMI. If there is no overlay, the screen and sound are ok.
    If the problem occurs, the sound stays ok.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 193, Level: 2
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 57
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    5
    Points
    193
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Benedickte View Post
    Hi Sylvester.

    Could you please explain a bit more what you are experiencing and how often this happens?

    Have you updated your digital box recently?If not, please check for any new updates on this too.

    Thank you.

    Best regards,
    Benedickte
    Benedickte,

    Care to respond?!

    Best regards,
    Sylvester

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Points: 1,345, Level: 9
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 5
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Rafe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    86
    Points
    1,345
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Sylvester,

    Can you confirm if you have contacted UPC about this issue?

    Sorry for the delays in responding!

    ^Rafe


    Quote Originally Posted by Sylvester View Post
    Benedickte,

    Care to respond?!

    Best regards,
    Sylvester
    Forum Mod

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 189, Level: 2
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 61
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    3
    Points
    189
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    No support

    I have also problems with the combination Philips 46PFL8686/H12 and the UPC horizon settop box.
    (This new Horizon service is offered by UPC in the Netherlands)

    I am not the only one having problems, the UPC (former chello) users forum www.chelloo.com shows a lot of problems.
    Search for Horizon and/or HDMI

    Yesterday I called the support of Philips in the Netherlands.
    Explained "my" problems (my problems are are only "small"" compaired to others):
    - TV screen goes black and returns after a few seconds, sometimes so sound.
    - When switching on, using HDMI1 (and other HDMI-ports) no signal notification on the screen.
    switching OFF and ON of the TV resolves problem (most of the time) switching OFF and ON,both TV and Horizon settop box.

    "It is a known issu", they told me it is a HDMI protocol incompatiblity (different versions are used).
    "Philips HDMI protocol is fully according to the standard"
    Also is told that Philips considers the problem is te be blamed to the UPC Horizon settop box and takes no action.

    The list below (found at chello.com) shows that Philips has a lot of TV sets that have "Horizon related" problems.
    My type TV set is noy in the list (yet).
    Other brands also having problems, but see for your selve....

    TV sets with HDMI problems in combination with UPC Horizon settop box

    List found on Chelloo.com (UPC users forum, NOT related to UPC!)

    Brand - Type

    JVC LT-32A90BU
    JVC LT-42S90BU
    (2)

    LG 47LM640S
    LG 32LB1R-ZE
    LG 32LV3550
    (3)

    Medion MD30325
    (1)

    Panasonic TX-P46G20E
    Panasonic TX-L32G20ES
    Panasonic TX-P42G10E
    (3)

    Philips 32PFL7694H/12
    Philips 19634PH42PFL9632D/10BBAMBI
    Philips 22PFL5604
    Philips 26PFL4007H/12
    Philips 32FPL9632D/10
    Philips 32PF8541/10
    Philips 32PFL5007H/12
    Philips 32PFL5322/10
    Philips 32PFL5604H/12
    Philips 32PFL6904/h12
    Philips 32PFL7404H
    Philips 32PFL7404H/12
    Philips 32PFL7605H/12
    Philips 32PFL7674H/12
    Philips 32PFL8404
    Philips 32PFL8404H/12
    Philips 32PFL8605 Ambi Light
    Philips 32PFL9604
    Philips 32PFL9604H/12
    Philips 32PFL9606H/12
    Philips 32PGL3605/12
    Philips 32TFL8404H/12
    Philips 36PFL90...
    Philips 37PDF9604H/12
    Philips 37PF8684H12
    Philips 37PFL5604H
    Philips 37PFL5604H12
    Philips 37PFL7605H
    Philips 37PFL7605H/12
    Philips 37PFL8404H
    Philips 37PFL8404H/12
    Philips 37PFL9604
    Philips 37PFL9642
    Philips 37PFL9732
    Philips 37PLF7605H/12
    Philips 40PFL5605H
    Philips 40PFL7605
    Philips 40PFL7605H
    Philips 40PFL7605H/12
    Philips 40PFL7905H
    Philips 40PFL8605H/12
    Philips 40PFL8664
    Philips 40PFL8664H/12
    Philips 40PFL9704
    Philips 40PFL9704H/12
    Philips 40PFL9705H/12
    Philips 40PL8505H/12
    Philips 42PFL9903H
    Philips 42PES0001D/H
    Philips 42PFL3404H
    Philips 42PFL4307
    Philips 42PFL5604H12
    Philips 42PFL5804H/12
    Philips 42PFL7404H
    Philips 42PFL7406
    Philips 42PFL7655H
    Philips 42PFL8404
    Philips 42PFL8404H
    Philips 42PFL8404H/12
    Philips 42PFL9632D
    Philips 42PFL9632D/10
    Philips 42PFL9664
    Philips 42PFL9664H/12
    Philips 42PFL9704
    Philips 46PFL5605
    Philips 46PFL6606H
    Philips 46PFL7605H/12
    Philips 46PFL9704H/12
    Philips 46PFL9705H/12
    Philips 46PFL9706
    Philips 47PFL7404H/12
    Philips 47PFL8404H/12
    Philips 47PFL9664
    Philips 47PFL9664H
    Philips 47PFL9732
    Philips 52PFL9704
    Philips 52PFL9704H
    Philips 52PFL9704H/12
    Philips 55PFL7606
    Philips 56PFL9954H
    Philips 56PFL9954H/12
    Philips 7000 Serie
    Philips 8404H12
    Philips 9000 Serie 9704H-12
    Philips Ambi Light 37PFL9732D
    Philips Cinema 50PFL7956
    Philips Cineos
    Philips Cineos 47PFL9632D/10
    Philips PFL7605-H12
    Philips PFL8664
    Philips SQ549-6ELA
    Philips TX-P46G20E
    (92)

    Samsung LE32B550A5PXXN
    Samsung LE32A330J1
    Samsung LE32A556P1FXXC
    Samsung LE32A557
    Samsung LE46A656A1FXXC
    Samsung PS50 7700
    Samsung UE46D8000
    (7)

    Sony KDL40E36XX
    Sony Bravia KDL32BX400
    Sony Bravia KDL40BX400
    Sony Bravia KDL40EX402
    Sony Bravia KDL40EX600
    Sony Bravia KDL40S30XX
    Sony Bravia KDL46EX4XX
    Sony KDL30S5500
    Sony KDL32EX402
    Sony KDL32EX600
    Sony KDL32S6500
    Sony KDL37EX402
    Sony KDL37S5500
    Sony KDL40BX400
    Sony KDL40EX402
    Sony KDL40NX500
    Sony KDL40P3600
    Sony KDL40S5500
    Sony KDL46EX402
    Sony KDS55A2000
    Sony KLVS32A10E
    (21)

    List version 31 oktober 2012

    It is not an "issu" it looks more as a huge "problem"

    I hope that PHILIPS takes action to solve the problem, or my next TV is NOT a PHILIPS one (this one is the fifth)!

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 105, Level: 1
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 45
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    2
    Points
    105
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    @Benedickte,

    this is not helping, but avoiding answering the question.

    I recently got the Horizon UPC box, with TV 32PFL5604/12. Every couple of minutes or so, the screen gets a different shade (blue/green overlay). It sometimes disappears again after a couple of minutes. Only solution up to now is using scart cable iso hdmi. This is of course an unacceptable solution as quality is quite poor.

    Using both for tv and upc box latest software.

    What is Philips doing about this. And what can I do about this.

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 189, Level: 2
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 61
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    3
    Points
    189
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    @ Benedickte / Rafe

    Still no reply from the Philips Service Support dept. ........

    No time for response?
    Busy with solving the "Horizon" problems?

    Did Philips contact UPC about the problem?
    I did contact UPC helpdesk, nobody could tell me if the problems will be solved by UPC.

    Note: TV as well as the Horizon box running the latest software, still having problems.

    Please inform about actions taken by Philips.

  13. #13
    New Member
    Points: 47, Level: 1
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 3
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    2
    Points
    47
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    We just got Horizon here in Switzerland too and I tried to connect our 37PFL9732 to the settop box. Unfortunately I've exactly the same problem: HDCP-TV error. The box obviously cannot read the manufacturer ID of the TV and thus is pissed off.
    It works fine with SCART connection but the quality is of course tampered.
    I've installed the latest firmware version for the TV but still get the HDCP error.
    I called the UPC hotline and as soon as I mentioned "Philips" they gave up and asked me to get a corrected firmware from Philips.

    I hope Philips brings a bug fix asap.

  14. #14
    New Member
    Points: 189, Level: 2
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 61
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    3
    Points
    189
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Still no response from "Philips Support(?)"

    Previous problems were found in the Netherlands, last message came from Switzerland.
    Problems are spreading out.....

    B.t.w. this topic is about 2009 and older models, my TV (46PFL8686/H12 ) is less than 6 months old.
    I replied because of the DHCP-Error, newer models are also suffering the problem.

    Question(s):

    Is someone at Philips support reading messages at this forum?
    Do they care to respond to messages or support customers?
    Is there contact between UPC and Philips?
    As far as I can see all relevant information is supplied.

    I will ask again:

    Please give information about actions taken by Philips.

  15. #15
    New Member
    Points: 47, Level: 1
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 3
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    2
    Points
    47
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I talked to the Philips hotline yesterday and they confirmed that I have the latest Firmware on my 37PFL9732. The hotline was not able to provide a solution and they blamed the Horizon Firmware to cause this issue.

    There's one indication which supports the argument of Philips. I've also connected an Apple TV II to the same TV and also the Apple TV is using HDCP authentication of course. Everything works fine with the combination of Apple TV and 37PFL9732. So this tells me that Philips doesn't have a general problem with HDCP.

    So I went back to the Horizon hotline at UPC cablecom and was connected to a guy from the Second Level Support. He confirmed that this is a well known issue with Philips TVs and they work on a fix already. I had to provide my mobile number and they offered me to send me a SMS when the bug fix is available. They estimated a timeframe of a week or so (which is realisticaly a few months or so). I've connected the Horizon box with a SCART cable in the meantime and I'm waiting for the new horizon Firmware now.

    I'll update here as soon as I get this SMS.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Problem with DHCP 24pfl3507h/12
    By saint056a in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-06-2012, 06:28 PM
  2. 32PFL5406H Digital tuner problems ?
    By VibSun in forum TV: Software 2011 models
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-30-2011, 08:53 PM
  3. Digital TV Tuning Problems
    By wikey in forum TV: Installation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-04-2011, 09:52 AM
  4. How to turn DHCP on my modem on ?
    By pascal in forum Smart TV: Installation
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 06-23-2011, 12:54 PM
  5. software problems.(flashing ambilight, dhcp errors
    By evad1st in forum TV: Software 2010 models
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-27-2011, 09:41 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •