Page 1 of 16 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 235
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,383, Level: 70
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 1,167
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,033
    Points
    51,383
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Thumbs up Your experiences with FW v 150.48.13 for 6, 7, 8 and 9xx7 series (2012 models)

    Hi all,

    Please share your experiences with this new SW version here in this topic. Channeling your input will make it easier for users to search and find relevant info.

    Remarks
    - Due to the global IT structure, there might be a delay in the uploading/synchronizing of new SW releases (and their release notes). Please, have a little patience if you cannot immediately see the new files on the support web pages and try 1 or 2 days later.

    - IMPORTANT: After upgrading your TV, it is necessary to perform a "cold start": after the TV is running again (after the update), shut down the TV, wait 2 minutes (till all components are shut down), unplug the TV from the mains (pull power cord) for a few minutes before starting again.

    Note: Each release contains all solutions identified in the earlier version.



    Toengel@Alex

    Edit:

    Changelog:

    QF1EU-0.150.48.13 (Date published: 2012-10-30)
    ∑ WiFi Smart screen Ziggo stream crash are solved.
    ∑ DLNA server lost are solved.
    ∑ No Videotext in combination with HbbTV are solved.
    ∑ Availability of Headweb app for the Nordics.

    Edit 2:

    Note:
    Before using TXT, at least one channel zap needs to be executed.

    Regards,
    Benedickte
    Last edited by Philips - Benedickte; 11-07-2012 at 11:27 AM. Reason: Adding release notes + extra note

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,597, Level: 11
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 253
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    GR
    Posts
    41
    Points
    1,597
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    is this official?
    why no mention from the philips staff?

  3. #3
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,383, Level: 70
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 1,167
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,033
    Points
    51,383
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    sure it's official - just go to the support webpage. Then don't mentioned it yet, cause they are at home now ;-)

    Toengel@Alex

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,597, Level: 11
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 253
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    GR
    Posts
    41
    Points
    1,597
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    well that's nice then!
    I am eagerly waiting for the release notes and user test results!

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 171, Level: 2
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 79
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Stockholm/Sweden
    Posts
    11
    Points
    171
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Lets hope it fixes the critical bugs this TV has, but I do not have much faith that it does.

  6. #6
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,091, Level: 16
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Cluj, Romania
    Posts
    122
    Points
    3,091
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    The HDNM artefact/judder bug is still there. Though Philips does not want to acknowledge it. If you do not believe, please read here.

    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...4107#post44107
    Last edited by majorusa; 10-30-2012 at 09:22 PM.

  7. #7
    Silver Member
    Points: 591, Level: 6
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 159
    Overall activity: 30.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredNew Achievement!500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    102
    Points
    591
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    I think this has fixed the flicker issue produced by the previous version, I haven't noticed the problem since updating - will keep an eye on it

  8. #8
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,383, Level: 70
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 1,167
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,033
    Points
    51,383
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    Wifi-SmartScreen-App (MyRemote 3.1 for iPad) has been released: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...(Version-3-1-0)

    Toengel@Alex

  9. #9
    Silver Member
    Points: 591, Level: 6
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 159
    Overall activity: 30.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredNew Achievement!500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    102
    Points
    591
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by mrb1972 View Post
    I think this has fixed the flicker issue produced by the previous version, I haven't noticed the problem since updating - will keep an eye on it
    Update - flicker not fixed - had to downgrade again

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 223, Level: 2
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    France
    Posts
    9
    Points
    223
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    We always peaks sound when changing channel. (HDMI Channels HD in France)

    The perfect natural motion is still choppy when there is rapid movement horizontal. (46PFL8007K)

    In the web browser, the pointer of the remote itself down when not moving the remote!
    Why when you double-click on the OK button you leave the current web page? (bing maps)
    Last edited by Jeff_r; 11-01-2012 at 08:13 AM.

  11. #11
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,388, Level: 10
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 162
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    176
    Points
    1,388
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    2

    Angry

    Quote Originally Posted by Jeff_r View Post
    The perfect natural motion is still choppy when there is rapid movement horizontal.
    Quote Originally Posted by majorusa
    The HDNM artefact/judder bug is still there. Though Philips does not want to acknowledge it. If you do not believe, please read here.
    Same, Same, Same (on 47pfl6007).
    Yesterday I decided to finish watching a serie on my tablet. It was so bad on the TV.
    Worst money spent those last 10 years. I was not expecting a digital photo viewer but a 1080p compliant TV panel.
    I will also post videos that I recorded with fullhd camera.

    Yes, I'm really frustrated

  12. #12
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,388, Level: 10
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 162
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    176
    Points
    1,388
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    I thought I would post a link to my post about remaining motion problem (on other thread that is placed in the "share your review" section but should be in current software section).

    You can see motion problem (video and stills in the 2 posts).
    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...ll=1#post44213

  13. #13
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,091, Level: 16
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Cluj, Romania
    Posts
    122
    Points
    3,091
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Manuj, please change the name of your youtube video in "Philips TV 6007 series faulty picture" and a title of your choice. I am trying to push up in the search engine this issue in order to force Philips to solve it. Thank you.

  14. #14
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,388, Level: 10
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 162
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    176
    Points
    1,388
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by majorusa View Post
    Manuj, please change the name of your youtube video in "Philips TV 6007 series faulty picture" and a title of your choice. I am trying to push up in the search engine this issue in order to force Philips to solve it. Thank you.
    Done.

  15. #15
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,091, Level: 16
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Cluj, Romania
    Posts
    122
    Points
    3,091
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Thank you.

Page 1 of 16 12311 ... LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Experience thread - FW v2.xx - for 3xx7 series - 2012
    By Philips - Benedickte in forum TV: Software 2012 models
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 08-18-2014, 08:05 AM
  2. Your experiences with FW v 150.48.9 for 6, 7, 8 and 9xx7 series (2012 models)
    By Philips - Benedickte in forum TV: Software 2012 models
    Replies: 99
    Last Post: 10-30-2012, 09:20 PM
  3. Your experiences with FW v2.0x for3xx7 series (2012 models)
    By Philips - Thomas in forum TV: Software 2012 models
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-24-2012, 02:04 PM
  4. Your experiences with FW v0.90.0 for 4xx7 and 5xx7 series (2012 models)
    By Philips - Benedickte in forum TV: Software 2012 models
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 08-21-2012, 02:31 PM
  5. Your experiences with FW v0.87.0 for 4xx7 and 5xx7 series (2012 models)
    By Philips - Thomas in forum TV: Software 2012 models
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 07-02-2012, 08:30 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •