Results 1 to 4 of 4
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 196, Level: 2
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Marwell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2
    Points
    196
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Philips 21PT5420 CRT TV - Can't access SOUND menu item

    Hello,

    I would like to ask you for advice.
    When I press <MENU> key on RC the full menu (as is shown in the user instructions manual) is not displayed. Only reduced MENU is shown.

    The MENU should look like this:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	picture.jpg 
Views:	190 
Size:	25.5 KB 
ID:	1514Click image for larger version. 

Name:	sound.jpg 
Views:	183 
Size:	23.6 KB 
ID:	1515

    This MENU is not present in my TV (my MENU is pseudo-animated and consist from single line).

    The only available options are:

    BRIGHTNESS
    COLOUR
    CONTRAST
    SHARPNESS
    AUTO STORE
    MANUAL STORE

    The worst thing around is the fact that since it is not accessible SOUND menu I can not set these parameters (bass, treble values) so the device has deplorable sound quality (when you select MUSIC option using SMART AUDIO bass and treble lacks - the sound is even worse and unusable with other selection of SMART AUDIO).

    Any advice?

    Thanks a lot.

    TV model: 21PT5420/01 - SL01.2E (L01ET5 2.1)
    Last edited by Marwell; 10-30-2012 at 06:59 PM.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 1,345, Level: 9
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 5
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Rafe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    86
    Points
    1,345
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Marwell,

    Sorry to see you seem to be having problems with your TV

    Could you just clarify for me which menu it is that you can't access? How long as this been happening?

    Best regards,

    ^Rafe

    Quote Originally Posted by Marwell View Post
    Hello,

    I would like to ask you for advice.
    When I press <MENU> key on RC the full menu (as is shown in the user instructions manual) is not displayed. Only reduced MENU is shown.

    The MENU should look like this:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	picture.jpg 
Views:	190 
Size:	25.5 KB 
ID:	1514Click image for larger version. 

Name:	sound.jpg 
Views:	183 
Size:	23.6 KB 
ID:	1515

    This MENU is not present in my TV (my MENU is pseudo-animated and consist from single line).

    The only available options are:

    BRIGHTNESS
    COLOUR
    CONTRAST
    SHARPNESS
    AUTO STORE
    MANUAL STORE

    The worst thing around is the fact that since it is not accessible SOUND menu I can not set these parameters (bass, treble values) so the device has deplorable sound quality (when you select MUSIC option using SMART AUDIO bass and treble lacks - the sound is even worse and unusable with other selection of SMART AUDIO).

    Any advice?

    Thanks a lot.

    TV model: 21PT5420/01 - SL01.2E (L01ET5 2.1)
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 196, Level: 2
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Marwell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2
    Points
    196
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thank You, Rafe,

    the problem existed when I bought the TV (2006). But, since I did not use the TV set for 5 years (it was lying in a box) I did not pay attention to it (my fault).

    I'm sure that the problem is inappropriate FW (I think that the current FW is not damaged but it is a wastrel from the developers - or - there is an unpublished shortcut from RC to switch between current and "normal" menu appearance).

    The single-line MENU is available by pressing <MENU> button.
    Pressing <UP Arrow> or <DOWN Arrow> button on RC causes cycling of these options (as single line):

    BRIGHTNESS
    COLOUR
    CONTRAST
    SHARPNESS
    AUTO STORE
    MANUAL STORE

    So you can change values for only these options.

    Sound equalization is possible only by using SMART AUDIO function accessible from the RC and is absolutely useless (Voice, Music, Theatre). The sound quality is like a sound from an empty oil barrel.

    I contacted an authorized service center to flash the memory or NVM (to change FW to older or latter version) but they told me that this model is too old and .bin files are no longer on the official website for services purposes.

    Now I'm a little desperate...

    SAM mode displays this FW version on the screen - L01ET5 2.1.

    Actual firmware offers several completely unusable options - for example:
    SMART AUDIO - Voice, Theatre
    SMART VIDEO - all modes except Personal
    "Incr. Surround" is like "voice from beyond the grave".

    Now I do not know what to do. The TV set is in the condition I bought it yesterday...
    Last edited by Marwell; 11-01-2012 at 06:50 PM.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 1,345, Level: 9
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 5
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Rafe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    86
    Points
    1,345
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Marwell,

    Sorry for the delay in replying!

    Unfortunately, the service centre was right, there are no firmware updates for this television, so you won't be able to change that now.

    You won't be able to change the menus, I'm afraid ... there really are no other controls other than those on the remote control or printed in the DFU.

    I appreciate this may be a bit disappointing for you, but there isn't any further advice I can give on this

    Rafe

    Quote Originally Posted by Marwell View Post
    Thank You, Rafe,

    the problem existed when I bought the TV (2006). But, since I did not use the TV set for 5 years (it was lying in a box) I did not pay attention to it (my fault).

    I'm sure that the problem is inappropriate FW (I think that the current FW is not damaged but it is a wastrel from the developers - or - there is an unpublished shortcut from RC to switch between current and "normal" menu appearance).

    The single-line MENU is available by pressing <MENU> button.
    Pressing <UP Arrow> or <DOWN Arrow> button on RC causes cycling of these options (as single line):

    BRIGHTNESS
    COLOUR
    CONTRAST
    SHARPNESS
    AUTO STORE
    MANUAL STORE

    So you can change values for only these options.

    Sound equalization is possible only by using SMART AUDIO function accessible from the RC and is absolutely useless (Voice, Music, Theatre). The sound quality is like a sound from an empty oil barrel.

    I contacted an authorized service center to flash the memory or NVM (to change FW to older or latter version) but they told me that this model is too old and .bin files are no longer on the official website for services purposes.

    Now I'm a little desperate...

    SAM mode displays this FW version on the screen - L01ET5 2.1.

    Actual firmware offers several completely unusable options - for example:
    SMART AUDIO - Voice, Theatre
    SMART VIDEO - all modes except Personal
    "Incr. Surround" is like "voice from beyond the grave".

    Now I do not know what to do. The TV set is in the condition I bought it yesterday...
    Forum Mod

Similar Topics

  1. BDP5200, Unable to access NetTV but able to access Wif-Fi
    By sandeep sukhavasi in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-23-2012, 09:34 AM
  2. SOUND ON ALL PHILIPS TV's
    By xdavorx in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-25-2012, 07:11 PM
  3. Access service menu?
    By B|G1 in forum TV: Software 2011 models
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-07-2012, 12:58 PM
  4. Phillips 3000 can't access Home menu.
    By nimmy1 in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-21-2011, 01:24 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-01-2010, 09:48 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •