Results 1 to 7 of 7
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 215, Level: 2
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    5
    Points
    215
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    HDMI connection

    I have the hts9241/12 and the 37pfl6777h/12 - I live in France.
    When the vendor installed the system he connected it to my sat rcvr via htmi - OK, then he connected the sound system and the TV via an htmi lead AND an optical cable.

    Whilst this worked OK the optical lead kept falling out of the TV connection and losing the sound to the sound system. The Philips technician came to change out the printed circuit board that held the optical socket. In doing so - after three tries - he got a picture but the definition was terrible. He came back with another PCB but in changing that out he buggered the ribbon cable!! The TV is now back at his workshop. We have enjoyed a grand total of 2 hours of Philips TV since we bought both systems almost three weeks ago!!

    I know this sounds a bit like the Flanders & Swan song "On a Monday morning the gas man came to call ...................." but my real question is why do I need an optical cable if I have a full hdmi connection?

    Your comments would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    They have both ARC so don´t get it...think optical is not needed

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 215, Level: 2
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    5
    Points
    215
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar View Post
    They have both ARC so don´t get it...think optical is not needed
    Thanks Oscar - I was hoping that I would not need the optical. Playing a Blue ray from the Sound system plays the video OK to the TV without the optical connection BUT the Sound coming FROM the TV TO the sound system does not seem to work without the optical. I think that there must be something in the set-up routines that needs to be done to make it work both ways without the optical cable. I hope that someone can tell me just what needs to be done.
    Regards,

  4. #4
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    What I meant is to connect your tv via the HDMI to your HTS. As all HDMI connectors on your tv are ARC you can choose. For this part no extra audio cable is needed. As I dont know which connectiosn your sat. has cannot help you on that. COnnect it via HDMI to your TV also but the sound part again don´t know the connections. The HTS gives you various possibilities here though....

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 215, Level: 2
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    5
    Points
    215
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Oscar,
    Thanks for your reply.
    The optic cable is only between the TV and the sound system. My sat rcvr also has HDMI - not sure at what level - but it does an OK job of sending sound and vision directly to the TV.
    The problem is between the TV and the Sound system both of which are ARC and as such SHOULD be compatible for both sound and vision. Does the HDMI ARC work in both directions - TV sound and vision TO the sound system AND vision FROM the sound system Blue Ray player TO the TV?
    In my case it works with just the HDMI cable to transmit vision TO the TV but to get the sound FROM the TV to the sound system I need to use the optical cable.
    Best regards,
    P

  6. #6
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi Pete16,

    In your TV go to the set up menu-TV settings-Sound-Advanced Put Easylink on on and HDMI ARC in ON also.
    For the HTS:
    Connect the HDMI OUT/HDMI OUT (ARC) connection of the HTS to the HDMI ARC connection of the TV.
    Press the "Home" button on the remote control
    Select "Setup>EasyLink>EasyLink>On, and then press 'OK'
    Select "Setup>EasyLink>System Audio Control > On, and then press 'OK'.
    Select "Setup>Easylink>Audio Input Mapping" to map the HTS to the ARC connection
    Follow the on screen instruction to complete the setup

    Good luck

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 215, Level: 2
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    5
    Points
    215
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar View Post
    Hi Pete16,

    In your TV go to the set up menu-TV settings-Sound-Advanced Put Easylink on on and HDMI ARC in ON also.
    For the HTS:
    Connect the HDMI OUT/HDMI OUT (ARC) connection of the HTS to the HDMI ARC connection of the TV.
    Press the "Home" button on the remote control
    Select "Setup>EasyLink>EasyLink>On, and then press 'OK'
    Select "Setup>EasyLink>System Audio Control > On, and then press 'OK'.
    Select "Setup>Easylink>Audio Input Mapping" to map the HTS to the ARC connection
    Follow the on screen instruction to complete the setup

    Good luck
    Thanks Oscar - I will give it a try tonight.
    Best regards,
    P

Similar Topics

  1. HDMI connection: Vertical line on the right
    By tuby in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-12-2012, 07:20 PM
  2. pc hdmi connection issue
    By laziffer in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-25-2012, 11:27 AM
  3. HDMI connection to Laptop
    By j1ham in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-23-2012, 01:15 PM
  4. Problems with HDMI connection
    By Per in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-22-2012, 11:06 AM
  5. no connection through HDMI 1 port
    By aldosalomons in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-21-2011, 08:01 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •