Results 1 to 7 of 7
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 118, Level: 1
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 32
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    3
    Points
    118
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Unhappy BDP5200 HDMI multichannel output not working

    Hi,

    on my 5200/12 i am unable to get the HDMI AC3 output to work.
    Firmware 1.61

    I tried to set the HDMI audio to both "auto" and "bitstream" - no result!
    I only get 2-channel PCM.
    Why is the bitstream option not working?

    My other hardware works just fine with multichannel over HDMI. (digital SAT receiver for example)

    Since i am unable to find old firmware versions, i can't try out if old firmware used to work.
    This is pretty bad at the moment - DVD and BluRays without multichannel....

    THX for any help
    Markus

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,269, Level: 72
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 281
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,185
    Points
    55,269
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    can you please describe how do you connect your devices?

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 118, Level: 1
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 32
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    3
    Points
    118
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    - BluRay and SAT-receiver to TV with HDMI
    - TV to AudioReceiver via optical cable.

    AC3 from Sat-receiver and the TVs integrated media player works just fine.

    Greetings Markus

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,269, Level: 72
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 281
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,185
    Points
    55,269
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    from my point of view, this is a bug...

    See the actual changelog of the 2012 BDPs (e.g. BDP5500). This has been fixed there in version 3.53...

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 118, Level: 1
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 32
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    3
    Points
    118
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Is philips support reading this forum, or do i have to contact them seperately by mail?

    Thx Markus

  6. #6
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Looking at that they changed it with other devices they do and in general lately they ae more on top....let wait and see...

  7. #7
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    Hi Cumulus7,

    To eliminate the variables in your issue, would you please try the below connection and let us know the results:
    TV <---HDMI----> BDP5200
    BDP5200 <------Optical -------> Audio receiver

    If the multichannel works this way, it's not likely the issue of BDP5200, it can be something wrong with the HDMI between TV and BDP5200.
    If the multichannel not work at all, then we can be quite sure it's issue with BDP5200.

Similar Topics

  1. BDP5200 - Net TV not working
    By bulletproof1979 in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-17-2013, 04:22 AM
  2. DTS to multichannel
    By DVDist in forum Blu-ray: BDP7000 Series
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-16-2012, 07:52 AM
  3. No multichannel audio with HDMI ?
    By Luth in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-13-2012, 10:48 PM
  4. 42PFL5604 and BDP5200 not working via HDMI
    By Joergen in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-02-2012, 07:47 AM
  5. Realvideo .rmvb not working on BDP5200/05
    By neilski in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-04-2011, 11:18 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •