Results 1 to 8 of 8
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 115, Level: 1
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    4
    Points
    115
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    BDP6000, unable to connect Wifi with hidden SSID

    Hi,
    Recently purchased a BDP6000 and updated it straight to latest firmware version 1.61.
    I was not able to connect to my Wifi network with hidden SSID with manual entering network/password after scan but when broadcasting my SSID( on my router ) I was able to connect properly ( both manual as scan method).
    When now switching back to hidden SSID on my router the BDP6000 was able to (re)connect, but after switching BDP6000 off and on it again is unable to connect to my Wifi network.

    Is this known behaviour and can BDP6000 not handle hidden SSID?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    And this happens all the time? What router is that and did you try with a different one?

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 115, Level: 1
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    4
    Points
    115
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Oscar,
    Yes it's very reproducable and no didn't try another.
    It's an older b-router ( Sitecom WL521R ) but nevertheless it's doing it's job well sofar.
    Also my laptop, tablet and smartphone don't have a problem with the hidden SID only the BDP6000.

  4. #4
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Could you test with a different one to rule out things..

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 115, Level: 1
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    4
    Points
    115
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Oscar,
    Don't have a second router around but I will look borrowing one ( will take some time ).

    But if 'other' router should work it says nothing because my other wireless equipment is working welll and the BDP6000 is not! So is it fair to say that's the problem is inside the BDP6000?

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,267, Level: 13
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 183
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Oxford
    Posts
    45
    Points
    2,267
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Aside: my understanding is that hiding the SSID barely enhances your security at all. From experience though, it generally does add enormously to the pain of making new connections
    (Mine is no longer hidden...)

  7. #7
    Gold Member
    Points: 1,784, Level: 11
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 33.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    spain
    Posts
    286
    Points
    1,784
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Or an incompatibility between these two.......

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 115, Level: 1
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    4
    Points
    115
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Pacman,
    That's probably indeed the case here.
    But Philips products, at least the ones from my limited experience, are known for its too strict checks and stop if something is not totally as expected as where competition doesn't bother so much and just go on. The end-user/customer only sees that the Philips product is not working!

    The easiest solution is indeed switch on SSID ( as mentioned by neilski ) and don't bother any longer. I only wanted to mention the issue here.

Similar Topics

  1. Unable to connect to the internet
    By Manus in forum Sound: GoGear SA3-series (2011)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-24-2012, 02:06 AM
  2. Unable to connect Wifi Media Connect onto PC
    By springchua in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-13-2012, 06:51 PM
  3. Wifi and (no Broadcast) SSID on 42PDL7906H/12
    By Manuel in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-16-2012, 11:13 PM
  4. WiFi Media Connect : Does not Connect Wirelessly
    By ppetkov in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-19-2011, 11:12 AM
  5. Unable to connect laptop to TV via HDMI
    By numbertwo in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-26-2011, 02:47 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •