View Poll Results: Your Opinion about Net TV UI animations

Voters
10. You may not vote on this poll
  • I like the animations, don't change anything

    6 60.00%
  • The animation does not enhance the UI, I have to wait for the device - please remove them

    4 40.00%
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Topic: It's a bad UI

  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,661, Level: 11
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 189
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,661
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Thumbs down It's a bad UI

    I have a 32PFL7605H/12 and the UI sucks.Far too little processing power for the (broken) menu animations. It takes about two seconds for information to show. In between: a flickering nothing that was supposed to look sophisticated.
    What a UI does: give the user information, ideally instantly.

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    before you access the menues after you start the TV, you should wait a few second. The TV has an Linux operating system, which needs to boot. It takes some time till all processes and applications are loaded.

    However, I also see some performance improvements in the GUI speed...

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 1,661, Level: 11
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 189
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,661
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Yes, I know there is a lot of software involved, nothing against the booting.
    Try the ambi-light menu and scroll three items or a page and be astonished by the animation. Maybe I will post a video somewhere in a couple of weeks.
    What really bothers me is navigation. Far too many buttons to push to get into the list.
    Are there more advanced remote controls that offer direct access to menus? Are the remote control codes published anywhere? Is there a shortcut so I can assign the channel list to a button on the remote?

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    you can bye the remote control from the 2009 series of your tv... it has more buttons

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #5
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    i cannot remember how many times I have said this. Usability on Philips models is poor. Too many keystrokes to do simple things...
    I have made a simple request to add the sleep timer on the green button for six months now, but they have ignored even this simple change...

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,536, Level: 14
    Level completed: 29%, Points required for next Level: 214
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    27
    Points
    2,536
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Take out all that animation when switching menu's.... It makes everything soooo slow.

  7. #7
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    I like the animations and to have less keys on the remote as for other TVs, but can access everything by menu. This was a definite argument for Philips. They keep it simple.

    Why an extra button for every function? A good structured menu, which is good readable from a larger distance replaces this ugly remote controls with thousands of keys. Most of the keys are not used.

    All of the functions I use, are very good accessable.

    Philips, please stay at this kind of usability style. This makes the difference to other TVs!

    Not sure why you bought the TV, when you are missing so many buttons on the remote. You should have a look at before you buy it. No one will replace your remote.

    Nevertheless, I think the animations should run smooth to be nice, but I think they are not as bad as described.

  8. #8
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    @smart

    Full Ack!

    Toengel@Alex

  9. #9
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,879, Level: 12
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 271
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    66
    Points
    1,879
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by smart View Post
    I like the animations and to have less keys on the remote as for other TVs, but can access everything by menu. This was a definite argument for Philips. They keep it simple.

    Why an extra button for every function? A good structured menu, which is good readable from a larger distance replaces this ugly remote controls with thousands of keys. Most of the keys are not used.

    All of the functions I use, are very good accessable.

    Philips, please stay at this kind of usability style. This makes the difference to other TVs!

    Not sure why you bought the TV, when you are missing so many buttons on the remote. You should have a look at before you buy it. No one will replace your remote.

    Nevertheless, I think the animations should run smooth to be nice, but I think they are not as bad as described.
    Totally agree.

    My parents have a Sony with "thousands" of buttons, which lead to "thousands" of errors of unwanted clicks.

    The current design is minimalist. You can see this trend in the best browsers: Chrome and IE9 (you have copied the design of Chrome).

    Thanks Philips to gamble by modernity.

  10. #10
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    But simplicity and ease of use are different ideas. A simple example: how will you set the off timer?

    How there is no shortcut for such an important function, and is buried under all these menus?

  11. #11
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    @petasis

    this does not have something to do with the Net TV UI...

    (But you are right, that the off timer setting should be moved to the adust-button-menu)

    Toengel@Alex

  12. #12
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hm, I thought we were discussing for the TV menus, and the remote control buttons.
    Does net tv has menus? What is the menu in this case? I see just a set of icons in my net tv...

  13. #13
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,422, Level: 10
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 128
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    gonzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    12
    Points
    1,422
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Sheer Genius

    If there was a competition to design the least intuitive and most frustrating user interface the gold medal would have to go to Philips. I haven't seen anything this bad since the days of the first programmable VCRs.

    Adding the lag between pressing a button and anything actually happening is a brilliant move but the remote control... having the two concentric rings so the user is never sure which one to press and even if they do remember there is a good chance that they will accidentally press the wrong one - sheer genius.

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •