Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 115, Level: 1
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    4
    Points
    115
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    AW5000 setup completed, yet device can't be found?!

    I just finished setting up my new AW5000 speaker. I followed every step of the guide... the LEDs ligth up in the right colours at the right time, and before I go to "Rock n Roll" the app states that the speaker has been found and that it's connected to my home wifi network... however, when I press "Rock n Roll" to get started playing music, the device doesn't appear... and I get this message: No device found. Please connect your Philips connected device to your home network" ... What am I doing wrong?????? I have restarted the process several times now, with the same result. HELP!

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,590, Level: 70
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 960
    Overall activity: 57.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,039
    Points
    51,590
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    please check your Internet router if you have e.g. MAC address security enabled. If yes, you Need to add your AW5000...

    I had similar Problems with AW3000

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 115, Level: 1
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    4
    Points
    115
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    please check your Internet router if you have e.g. MAC address security enabled. If yes, you Need to add your AW5000...

    I had similar Problems with AW3000

    Toengel@Alex


    Hi, thanks for replying :-) ... your suggestion sounds plausible... can you tell me where I check the router? I work on an iMac... I have no idea where I find the router settings

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,864, Level: 12
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 286
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Hongkong
    Posts
    100
    Points
    1,864
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    please check your Internet router if you have e.g. MAC address security enabled. If yes, you Need to add your AW5000...

    I had similar Problems with AW3000

    Toengel@Alex

    Hi

    Also check whether your phone is connected to the same network as speaker after clicking roc n roll & speaker light is white. You can also check by pressing refresh under settings. As a worst case, try closing & restarting the app or once power cycle the speaker.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 115, Level: 1
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    4
    Points
    115
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fromsomewhere View Post
    Hi

    Also check whether your phone is connected to the same network as speaker after clicking roc n roll & speaker light is white. You can also check by pressing refresh under settings. As a worst case, try closing & restarting the app or once power cycle the speaker.

    Hi, thanks :-)
    ...I checked and tried all that. Without luck I'm afraid

  6. #6
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Did you uninstall teh app and install it new again from scratch? WHat phone and what version are you having? Can you try with a different one if possible?

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 115, Level: 1
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    4
    Points
    115
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar View Post
    Did you uninstall teh app and install it new again from scratch? WHat phone and what version are you having? Can you try with a different one if possible?
    Hi Oscar,
    yes I did try to uninstall and reinstall the app. I have tried from an iPhone 4 and from an iPad as well... same problem on both devices

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi MrsKris,

    I have send you a private message. Please check your inbox.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear MrsKris,

    We would like to further help you with this issue.Please check your inbox.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 80, Level: 1
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 70
    Overall activity: 80.0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registeredNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5
    Points
    80
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi! I've got the exact same problem, with both the AW5000 and AW9000. Connection is found in setup screen, I want to rock and roll yet the device cannot be found anymore. I checked my router configuration (no mac adress filter, SSID is alfanumerical, channel allows 802.11 b/g, firewall is off, etc.) Tried it both on iOS and Android devices, nothing works. Funny thing is, I tried the AW5000 on a network elsewhere and there it did work. What else can I try to make it work on my own network?

  11. #11
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,864, Level: 12
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 286
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Hongkong
    Posts
    100
    Points
    1,864
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Hi

    Firth thing to check is.. after you enter the password & reach the rock nroll button, what is the colour of the speaker light? It must be white. Then only the app will find it.

    Pls also check whether the phone switched back to your home network after pressing rock n roll button.

    Hope your password does not have a special character. Many a times those create problems.

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 80, Level: 1
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 70
    Overall activity: 80.0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registeredNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5
    Points
    80
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Tnx for the tips, but I followed the manual and the speaker shows a constant white light, phone(s) and ipad are switched back to the home network (seems to be automatically doing that also). For my SSID and password, I purposely changed those to avoid problems. The tip I got from the Philips chat was to update the firmware. Not very helpful when you can't connect the speaker

  13. #13
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,864, Level: 12
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 286
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Hongkong
    Posts
    100
    Points
    1,864
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    HI did you try clicking 'refresh" under settings in the app? do you find the speaker under services tab?

  14. #14
    New Member
    Points: 80, Level: 1
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 70
    Overall activity: 80.0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registeredNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5
    Points
    80
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Yes, tried it (keep in mind, tried to connect dozens of times by now). Also under services nothing appears (which would be odd I guess, but still). Also reinstalled the app, does not help. Since the speaker does connect on another network, I'm guessing it has something to do with my own network, but since I checked and double-checked everything I'm out of options. Or am I still missing something here? Really interested how things turned out for MrsKris btw..

  15. #15
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,590, Level: 70
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 960
    Overall activity: 57.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,039
    Points
    51,590
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    when the LED is white and you can see your AW device on your router.... just open Firefox and open the IP address of the AW:

    http:\\IP:8889\

    Toengel@Alex

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. AW3000, AW5000, AW9000 Latest Firmware upgrade (4.37S) has been released
    By Philips - Remko in forum Sound: Fidelio Wireless Audio series (AW1000, AW2000, AW3000, AW5000, AW9000)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-05-2012, 07:22 AM
  2. WADM device found but can't see files
    By agualdino in forum Sound: Streamium MCi series (MCi900| Mci8080| MCi730| MCi500| MCi298)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-25-2012, 02:01 PM
  3. Device not registered although internet registration completed?
    By FFMRaptor in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-10-2012, 10:31 AM
  4. Software update not found by device + DLNA server not found
    By mooster in forum Sound: Other Wireless Audio Models
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-03-2012, 06:21 AM
  5. Help: "Completed syncing device with error"
    By freespirit in forum Sound: GoGear SA2-series (2010)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-19-2011, 10:46 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •