Results 1 to 10 of 10
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 487, Level: 5
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 63
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    austria
    Posts
    16
    Points
    487
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Ds9800W/10 issues

    I already tried contacting philips support several times regarding my problems with the DS9800W, but it seems they are not really taken seriously.

    Apart from the already mentioned issues here in the forum that the DS9800 sometimes stop airplay streams or don't start to play at all i have another pretty annoying issue that i wasn't able to fix yet.

    In my case the speakers sometimes rename themselves to "BridgeCo 04D29B". This happens quite often without any obvious reason. Sometimes i noticed that they had took on this strange name after I had to restart my router. Sometimes they just crash during streaming and when i try to restart streaming again i see them having this new name instead.

    This is already my second set and i had exactly the same problem with the first one. I also have an AD7000W speaker which also renamed itself once to "BridgeCo 0B4670", but so far the AD7000W didn't do this anymore during the last months, the DS9800W are still renaming themselves regularly as they did again some days ago, when i came back from work and wanted to listen to some music. I wasn't sure if the speakers were on or off, so i took the remote and noticed that i had shut them off instead, after i had turned them on again i saw that they had renamed themself to "BridgeCo 04D29B".

    I have had 3.8.88.1000 installed from the very beginning. Nevertheless yesterday i tried to update them again and see if this problem will come again.

    Does anyone else have a similar problem?

    My router is a Linksys E4200 and i have also an Airport Express running in the same network which i also use for airplaystreaming and the Airport Express never had any problems, crashes or whatever.

    I would appreciate any help. I have been waiting for any fix since I bought the speakers back in April, so far there has not been a single firmware update yet!

    Thanks and best regards, o.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi oluv,

    As already replied on the German forum you need to contact your local call centre as this looks like an issue that we cannot solve from here.

    Kind regards
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 487, Level: 5
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 63
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    austria
    Posts
    16
    Points
    487
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    then i don't understand the necessity of this forum at all. i already had contacted the support about this issue more than a half year ago and until today i got neither any response how to fix this issue, nor any other feedback, so why should i try again?

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi oluv,

    I only see the similar issue that you have posted on the German forum on the 19/11 and where your were referred to contact service.

    The problem that you describe needs to be checked and therefore I unfortunatly cannot help you any further.

    Kind regards and apologies for the incovenience caused.

    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 487, Level: 5
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 63
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    austria
    Posts
    16
    Points
    487
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    so please point me at least to the right place where to send my report. maybe you know which department is really qualified.

    thanks!

  6. #6
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hello, it looks that the right place is service centre as something is obviously wrong.

    Better let your device be checked.

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 487, Level: 5
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 63
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    austria
    Posts
    16
    Points
    487
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar View Post
    Better let your device be checked.
    i don't think it is device related. i had ordered my first one from german amazon, i already noticed that behaviour with this one so i sent it back and ordered a second one from another store in netherlands. but this one also showed exactly the same problem, that's why i rather think it is some firmware-issue that can happen under particular circumstances. as even my AD7000W had this renaming problem once, this is definitely something unrelated to a particular device, but rather to the firmware or hardware/firmware interaction.

  8. #8
    Gold Member
    Points: 1,784, Level: 11
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 33.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    spain
    Posts
    286
    Points
    1,784
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Then check it with a different router for a while to see if the issue comes from there...

  9. #9
    Bronze Member
    Points: 487, Level: 5
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 63
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    austria
    Posts
    16
    Points
    487
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    i have had dozens different routers in my life already, now i have one which i am finally content with.
    it works flawlessly with all my devices, i have airprint-enabled printers, various mediaplayers, even wifi-extenders and all work perfectly, no problems so far. only the philips speakers seem to have issues, why should i even consider another router? if the speaker is able to rename itself how can this be an issue from the router? it is the firmware that crashes for whatever reason.

    it is also hard to nail down this problem as the speakers behave pretty well most of the time, until suddenly the crash happens without any obvious reason. i could even try another router for 2 or 3 weeks without obvious crashes, which doesn't mean that the speakers wouldn't crash during the 4th week.

  10. #10
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Then better as said by the mod go to service................

Similar Topics

  1. Will Apple TV ever be supported by DS9800W
    By fanny82 in forum Sound: DS8000- and DS9000-series
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-04-2012, 11:52 PM
  2. Latest Firmware Update does not fix Airplay connectivity issues DS9800W
    By zoyss in forum Sound: DS8000- and DS9000-series
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-06-2012, 01:00 PM
  3. Ds9800w
    By Pele10 in forum Sound: DS8000- and DS9000-series
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-28-2012, 06:50 AM
  4. DS9800W set up problems
    By JonClay in forum Sound: DS8000- and DS9000-series
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-15-2012, 10:08 AM
  5. Problem with DS9800w
    By Andrey1976 in forum Sound: DS8000- and DS9000-series
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-04-2011, 05:11 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •