Results 1 to 12 of 12
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 99, Level: 1
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 51
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registeredNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Cuijk
    Posts
    6
    Points
    99
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    HTS5582/12 sp dif out problem

    Hello.

    I have a HTS5582/12 with a sp dif problem with my pc. I use windows 7 and a good, new optical cable. The setting on the pc is "DTS audio" and 48 and 92 kHz samplespeed. 2 chanel, 24 bits, 96000 Hz, standard.

    Every time i start the receiver when i want to listenen to music or see a video, i have to send a testsound from my pc (just an ordinary windows option, rightside taskbar), so the receiver changes his setting to "DTS". Then the sound is good.

    If i dont do that... the sound is terrible... It sound far, far away with a lot of distortion combined.

    It looks like a softwareproblem of the receiver, since it doesnt recocnise the DTS sound.

    What can i do?

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 10,193, Level: 30
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 357
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!OverdriveVeteran10000 Experience Points
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    10,193
    Level
    30
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Co3n,

    Would you please try connect the set to a BDP player or Game console that has DTS output capable and see if similar issue can be observed? Thanks a lot.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 99, Level: 1
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 51
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registeredNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Cuijk
    Posts
    6
    Points
    99
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - QK View Post
    Hi Co3n,

    Would you please try connect the set to a BDP player or Game console that has DTS output capable and see if similar issue can be observed? Thanks a lot.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    No i dont have both... The BDP is inside

    Cant you ppl at Philips try to find out what is wrong... Perhaps try the advise you gave me
    You can always send me a game console so i can check

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    hi,

    what PC software you use to stream the music from your PC to the HTS5582?

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 99, Level: 1
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 51
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registeredNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Cuijk
    Posts
    6
    Points
    99
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kwinnie View Post
    hi,

    what PC software you use to stream the music from your PC to the HTS5582?
    I use Windows Media Player, on Windows 7.

    But the problem is also when i just start the pc... When logging in, you normally hear a sound... I only hear some weird noices... (distortion and the "normal" sound (far away and REALLY bad quality).

  6. #6
    Gold Member
    Points: 1,784, Level: 11
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 33.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    spain
    Posts
    286
    Points
    1,784
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    ANd what about your soundcard? Would really indeed be good as Kwinnie says to test with a different device...maybe for a neighboor or friend

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 99, Level: 1
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 51
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registeredNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Cuijk
    Posts
    6
    Points
    99
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Pacman View Post
    ANd what about your soundcard? Would really indeed be good as Kwinnie says to test with a different device...maybe for a neighboor or friend
    I use onboard: asus p6t se trough the optical out.

    The thing is: the receiver does not switch automatically to dts... But also, when i use dolby instead of dts, it does not work automatically.. Same thing when i use both...

    When i only use my headset... (Trust Gxt 26) it all works fine...

  8. #8
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi, As other users said it would be good to try with a differnt source instead of your laptop to rule things out.
    It can be perfectly that the problem comes from there.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 99, Level: 1
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 51
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registeredNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Cuijk
    Posts
    6
    Points
    99
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar View Post
    Hi, As other users said it would be good to try with a differnt source instead of your laptop to rule things out.
    It can be perfectly that the problem comes from there.
    Well, it would be a good sugestion, but this will take a week or 2...

    But, im sure it isnt the problem from the pc... Im also wondering why everyone is thinking else

    If i shut down the receiver will playing music... And i leave mediaplayer on, when i put the receiver back on, the problem is back...

    So its impossible that its the pc... Its the receiver

  10. #10
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Maybe just give it a try (although it might 2 weeks )......maybe others that have the same device (cannot help you on that) can confirm the issue

  11. #11
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    Switch your soundcard output options in his soundcard settings on PC to SPIDIF PASSTHRU (if any) to see if it works ?

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 99, Level: 1
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 51
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registeredNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Cuijk
    Posts
    6
    Points
    99
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kwinnie View Post
    Switch your soundcard output options in his soundcard settings on PC to SPIDIF PASSTHRU (if any) to see if it works ?
    Already done that... Without it, it doesnt work at all...

    Got other problems as well.. After listening true optical (dts), i switch to hmdi arc, and no sound at all..

    The hdmi arc is connected to my philips tv (7000 series). I need to put the device off and on again to get my sound back...

Similar Topics

  1. HTS5582 Latest Firmware upgrade (V1.52.00) has been released
    By Philips - Remko in forum Blu-ray: HTS Series
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-14-2012, 11:23 AM
  2. HTS5582 Latest Firmware upgrade (V1.47.10) has been released
    By Philips - Remko in forum Blu-ray: HTS Series
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-15-2012, 09:04 AM
  3. Can't find device HTS5582 from HTC Desire
    By mb33 in forum Apps: MyRemote App (for Android)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-07-2011, 05:55 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •