Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 61 to 71 of 71
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #61
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,416, Level: 70
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 134
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    52,416
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    Guys... as I am also have experiences in software developing I can say that it is ofter very hard to find bugs - especially if the occur not on a regular basis. Philips already confirms that they are working on this issue. Sure, I fully understand your complaints - I know also some things that aren't perfect. Also I can say, that Philips should hire somebody who understands something regarding usability (Philips, do you want to offer me a job? ) - but I also know that software developer often don't have "the eye" for usability...

    Toengel@Alex

  2. #62
    Platinum Member
    Points: 5,068, Level: 21
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 482
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Nettle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Padua, Italy
    Posts
    624
    Points
    5,068
    Level
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,
    Guys... as I am also have experiences in software developing I can say that it is ofter very hard to find bugs - especially if the occur not on a regular basis.
    Toengel@Alex
    Hi Toengel,

    I sell digital oscilloscopes and even our devices have got firmware releases that solve the issue received form the field.

    Which is the main difference?

    The related release notes report the solved issues. If the firmware relase doens't solve 90% of the declared issue, I'd not write:
    "
    Software history:
    Q55xx_0.140.32.0 (Publication date: 2011-03-08)
    • Intermittent sound loss while connected device via HDMI."


    because is 95% not true at all!

    Is better to test it with some beta tester eventually and when the feebacks are at least 90-95% ok on it, we can eventually release it.

    If the bad feedbacks amount is huge (as this 140.32 is one of these) is better to block every fw release in order to avoid disappointments and loss of confidence in the technical support.

    If you release a firmware and (as it seems with the 140.32) only 3-4 customers say that the sound drop issue is solved,
    it drives to the following conclusion:

    a) Philips is entrusting the issue to an external R&D lab (I don't want to think about this scenario)

    b) Philips is not completely aware about the reason of the failure: they're attempting to release different firmware versions but the actual awareness on the issue is partial/unknown or not fixable with sw "manipulations".

    I'm sorry but this is the impression that Philips is given with this conduct.

    regards
    Last edited by Nettle; 03-11-2011 at 11:39 AM.

  3. #63
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,416, Level: 70
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 134
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    52,416
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    so all beta testers were lucky - they seem to do not had such sound issues during testing...

    But I don't know anything about the quality management process in RnD at Philips...

    Toengel@Alex

  4. #64
    Platinum Member
    Points: 5,068, Level: 21
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 482
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Nettle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Padua, Italy
    Posts
    624
    Points
    5,068
    Level
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Dear Alex,

    my feedback as beta tester (140.32 fw beta release) has been full negative (for the sound cut off via HDMI and SPDIF) for example.

    Regarding the R&D management, I don't know anything too but the external impression given with this conduct is that one.
    Sorry.

    regards
    Last edited by Nettle; 03-11-2011 at 01:06 PM.

  5. #65
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,416, Level: 70
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 134
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    52,416
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    hmm - that is really bad. Hope they will recognize, that the sound issue isn't solved!

    Toengel@Alex

  6. #66
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,395, Level: 10
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 155
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    11
    Points
    1,395
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    That's about my problem again. I have same troubles with HDMI ARC and COAXIAL on 7605

  7. #67
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    How about gathering information about which connected devices through HDMI (brand, device type), have sound pauses, and which have not?

  8. #68
    Platinum Member
    Points: 5,068, Level: 21
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 482
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Nettle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Padua, Italy
    Posts
    624
    Points
    5,068
    Level
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by petasis View Post
    How about gathering information about which connected devices through HDMI (brand, device type), have sound pauses, and which have not?
    Dear Petasis,

    in my case the external device via HDMI is a Philips soundbar mod. HTS5120 :-(

    regards

  9. #69
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Nettle View Post
    Dear Petasis,

    in my case the external device via HDMI is a Philips soundbar mod. HTS5120 :-(

    regards
    Do you have sound pauses when you are hearing TV sound through the soundbar, when you are playing content on the soundbar (disks or files), or both? (does it play files/disks?)

    So, so far we have two reported devices:

    An HTS5120 (that must be embarrassing for philips )
    SageTV HD300: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...ull=1#post4519

  10. #70
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,395, Level: 10
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 155
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    11
    Points
    1,395
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have interrupts while viewing mkv with AC3 dolby digital 5.1 sound

    for example: (14 Mb) https://www.yousendit.com/download/T...NEhwcFUwTVE9PQ

    check it please

    p.s. my HTS is Sony BDV-E 870

  11. #71
    Platinum Member
    Points: 5,068, Level: 21
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 482
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Nettle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Padua, Italy
    Posts
    624
    Points
    5,068
    Level
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by petasis View Post
    Do you have sound pauses when you are hearing TV sound through the soundbar, when you are playing content on the soundbar (disks or files), or both? (does it play files/disks?)

    So, so far we have two reported devices:

    An HTS5120 (that must be embarrassing for philips )
    SageTV HD300: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...ull=1#post4519
    The HTS5120 Philips plays DVD, CD, files from USB key, files from HDMI, Radio tuner.

    Sound pauses HAPPEN when (via HDMI or SPDIF):

    a) I hear the TV sound through the soundbar
    b) I watch a film in a usb key connected to theTV (mkv, AVi files for example)an I hear the sound through the soundbar switched on

    Sound pauses don't HAPPEN if:

    c) I Play a DVD (a concert for example) and I listen toit with the soundbar and I watched it with the TV: the sound is heard perfectly
    d) I Play a videofile with the USB port of the soundbar: the sound is heard perfectly.

    Philips is aware of my complaints since December. No solutions found till now.
    regards
    Last edited by Nettle; 03-12-2011 at 01:36 PM.

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •