Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 107
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #61
    Bronze Member
    Points: 393, Level: 4
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 57
    Overall activity: 32.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    BelgiŽ
    Posts
    15
    Points
    393
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Yes tried that (straight connection bdp-tv) and it works fine. But why not when connected to the receiver, it used to work before the firmwareupgrade? And my xbox, ps3 and cable tuner are all connected via hdmi through the receiver and they work. Even if connected to the BD input on the receiver.

  2. #62
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,390, Level: 13
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 60
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    53
    Points
    2,390
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by krisv5 View Post
    Yes tried that (straight connection bdp-tv) and it works fine. But why not when connected to the receiver, it used to work before the firmwareupgrade? And my xbox, ps3 and cable tuner are all connected via hdmi through the receiver and they work. Even if connected to the BD input on the receiver.
    Strange, but since the BDP can connect to the tv directly , it means that there is a handshaking HDMI problem between the receiver and the tv not sure if it is due to the newly installed firmware though. So What I am thinking is to find if there is a new firmware for the receiver itself.
    Additionally see if easyling is activated. If so deactgivate it and try again.
    Nick

  3. #63
    Bronze Member
    Points: 393, Level: 4
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 57
    Overall activity: 32.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    BelgiŽ
    Posts
    15
    Points
    393
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The Onkyo is an entry level model, there's no possibility to upgrade (no end-user upgrade, searched all over internet allready)
    The firmwareupgrade is the only difference, so it must be something with this.
    Switched the easylink on and off, also in receiver but no luck...

  4. #64
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,390, Level: 13
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 60
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    53
    Points
    2,390
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by krisv5 View Post
    The Onkyo is an entry level model, there's no possibility to upgrade (no end-user upgrade, searched all over internet allready)
    The firmwareupgrade is the only difference, so it must be something with this.
    Switched the easylink on and off, also in receiver but no luck...
    Which TV HDMI port are you using?
    Is it No1? It should be No 1 when connecting through a receiver.
    If not try using it. If you are using No1 have you tried the other ports as well?
    Try this trick as well
    Switch on the tv, and the BDP but not the receiver.
    Does the signal arrives in tv with the ONKYO in standby mode or does ONKYO at all times is needed to be switched on?
    Switch on the tv switch on the BDP and switch on the ONKYO and see what happens. If nothing happens then go to ONKYO standby mode and see again if signal arrives on tv. NOw switch on nthe ONKYO again.
    Sometimes waking up a receiver from standby mode revices the HDMI connections.
    Nick
    Last edited by limpitakis; 01-16-2013 at 10:42 AM.

  5. #65
    Bronze Member
    Points: 393, Level: 4
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 57
    Overall activity: 32.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    BelgiŽ
    Posts
    15
    Points
    393
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    No luck either, tried all your suggestions but still the no signal message on the screen. Sometimes the indicator on the receiver blinks a while and then for one or 2 seconds it keeps steady on the HDMI signal, but then starts blinking again. If I connect another device (ex. Xbox or PS3) to this input on the receiver, and with the same cable, it works. So that's my check for both the cable and the input on the receiver. The hdmi out on the receiver is connected to the HDMI1 input on the TV. I think I will make a direct connection between BDP and TV, and an optical cable between BDP and receiver. That should fix the situation as well, allthough I prefer to connect all devices with HDMI.

  6. #66
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,123, Level: 8
    Level completed: 87%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    45
    Points
    1,123
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I really hope that the next firmware is @ least better then this one, this firmware makes the picture blurry if i compare it with older versions.

  7. #67
    Bronze Member
    Points: 856, Level: 7
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 94
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    13
    Points
    856
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Well looks like the development for the 2011 TV's are finished and philips tv onwer's are left with a buggy tv... almost 3 months since the last firmware...

    Let this be a lesson to all, dont buy philips...

    I'm already trying to sell mine.

    The only thing i really like in this tv is the mouth eye filter and the ambilight but it does not compensate the extra ÄÄ i've payed and the buggy software...

    The sleep timer bug shows how lame are the firmware developers....

    I'm really sad....

  8. #68
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,538, Level: 14
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 212
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    zlatko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Sofia/Bulgaria
    Posts
    152
    Points
    2,538
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    @MilkyOne
    Recently Philips was gathering info from 2011 9-series owners about some local dimming issues - so I suppose engineers are still working on at least one more iteration of the FW. Lets us hope it sees light of the day and it solves most of the issues we complain about.

  9. #69
    Bronze Member
    Points: 657, Level: 6
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 93
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    istanbul
    Posts
    25
    Points
    657
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for the information. Let's wait and hope the solution.

    Quote Originally Posted by zlatko View Post
    @MilkyOne
    Recently Philips was gathering info from 2011 9-series owners about some local dimming issues - so I suppose engineers are still working on at least one more iteration of the FW. Lets us hope it sees light of the day and it solves most of the issues we complain about.

  10. #70
    Bronze Member
    Points: 856, Level: 7
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 94
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    13
    Points
    856
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Its a 2011 model i really think philips has stop development for this models. If you go and check the 2012 models are receiving updates and also last time i check the 9000 series looks like it was discontinued.

    Let's wait but we better wait sitted.

    Quote Originally Posted by buyukbang View Post
    Thanks for the information. Let's wait and hope the solution.

  11. #71
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,538, Level: 14
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 212
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    zlatko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Sofia/Bulgaria
    Posts
    152
    Points
    2,538
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    @MilkyOne
    You have the right for opinion. But I am telling you what the situation is, someone from Philips mods here can shed more light on this.
    Anyway - except from DSE, I am very satisfied with my 52PFL9606, which I use as one of the best screens there are.

  12. #72
    Bronze Member
    Points: 856, Level: 7
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 94
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    13
    Points
    856
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Like i said before other than the mouth eye filter, good image quality (when u don't see the DSE) and ambilight, with so many bugs and very week smart tv(browser is slow doesn't suport flash, youtube app does not open live stream), doesn't supports dts, sleep timer bug and others.. and so bad firmware development, my tv(46pfl9706) in my opinion does no justifies the 2000Ä i paid...

    But like i said it's just my opinion, and i have to said this tv has the best black's i have ever seen because of the mouth eye filter. But.... just the blacks does not justifies the price...

    Quote Originally Posted by zlatko View Post
    @MilkyOne
    You have the right for opinion. But I am telling you what the situation is, someone from Philips mods here can shed more light on this.
    Anyway - except from DSE, I am very satisfied with my 52PFL9606, which I use as one of the best screens there are.

  13. #73
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,132, Level: 12
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 18
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    kookaburra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    EspaŮa
    Posts
    120
    Points
    2,132
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    New update for 2012 models. Supposedly this update improves local dimming pumps, PNM artifacts ... All these problems are the same as we have in our moelos 2011 (in my case 21:9). Does this mean that we will soon have an update for these problems in our teleisores 2011.

    Google translator.

  14. #74
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,538, Level: 14
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 212
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    zlatko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Sofia/Bulgaria
    Posts
    152
    Points
    2,538
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    @kookaburra
    I don't think there is any relation between FW for 2011 and 2012 models. Most probably there are several separate teams working on each chipset.
    But as I wrote above - it will be good if one of the mods give us some more info about 2011 9-series FW development/bugfixing.

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to zlatko For This Useful Post:

    Espen000 (03-17-2013)

  16. #75
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,141, Level: 8
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 9
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    38
    Points
    1,141
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Agreed. I am still waiting for a fw update to improve local dimming. When Phillips announced they would stop production of the 21:9 TV the customers should not worry and they would still stand behind existing products and supporting them.

    It would be great to get a statement from Phillips if they are working on updates for these models or whether development has stopped

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Your experiences with FW v0.14.101 for 8000, 9000 and 21:9 series (2011 models)
    By Philips - Benedickte in forum TV: Software 2011 models
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: 11-28-2012, 10:35 AM
  2. Replies: 22
    Last Post: 10-01-2012, 08:15 PM
  3. Replies: 120
    Last Post: 04-19-2012, 05:00 PM
  4. Your experiences with FW v0.14.95.0 for 8000, 9000 and 21:9 series (2011 models)
    By Philips - Thomas in forum TV: Software 2011 models
    Replies: 141
    Last Post: 03-05-2012, 06:33 AM
  5. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-12-2011, 10:37 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •