Results 1 to 6 of 6
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 81, Level: 1
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 69
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registeredTagger Second ClassNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3
    Points
    81
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Blu-Ray Does Not Work on HDMI

    Over the years I have had various components connected via HDMI (Computer, XBOX, etc) - they all worked fine, but I recently bought a Blu-Ray player (Sony BDP-S480) and I have a blank screen. The TV shows the input at 1080i, but there is no picture or sound. Could it be an HDCP issue? The TV is supposed to be compliant, right?

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 523, Level: 5
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points
    Philips - Rohan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    24
    Points
    523
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    10
    What is the model number of your TV and what firmware version is currently on it?
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 81, Level: 1
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 69
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registeredTagger Second ClassNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3
    Points
    81
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    It is model 50PF7321D/37 and has firmware Version: EX11U-1.5.0.0_09; Release for 2nd Spin: EX11U-1.5.0.0_09571. Thanks for your help on this!

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 523, Level: 5
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points
    Philips - Rohan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    24
    Points
    523
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    10
    @SRT - Your TV already has the latest firmware and the fact that all you other devices are working indicates that the HDCP in your TV is working correctly.

    Here is what I would suggest:
    1. Log on to Sony's website & see if the firmware on the Blu-Ray player is the latest (M07.R.0624).
    2. Try other output formats/resolutions on the BDP such as 720p etc. Sometimes a combination of the resolution and refresh rate i.e. 24Hz, 30Hz, 60Hz can affect playback as well.
    3. Try using other connection methods to the TV such as Composite (Yellow = Video) or Component (Red Green Blue = Video) to access the menu screens on the BDP to access the settings on the BDP.
    Forum Mod

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 81, Level: 1
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 69
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registeredTagger Second ClassNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3
    Points
    81
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The firmware on both devices is up to date. I am already using the Component connection for the Blu-Ray since the HDMI does not work, but when a blu-ray disk is played, it lowers the resolution when not using HDMI (therefore no HD). I tried every resolution/combination on the output settings, tried different HDMI cables and still only have a blank screen. I checked the Nvidia settings on the computer that is hooked up to the television and under HDCP status it says "Your system is not HDCP compatible." Thanks again.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Points: 523, Level: 5
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points
    Philips - Rohan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    24
    Points
    523
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    10
    SRT, really sorry to hear that. It looks like the EDID in the two devices are not syncing up the right way.

    PS: I have personally owned about three laptops where different versions of the drivers reported HDCP incompliance with the TVs I had but everything worked fine.
    Are you using these drivers to test HDCP in NVCP? http://www.nvidia.com/object/quadro-...ql-driver.html
    Forum Mod

Similar Topics

  1. all 3 hdmi ports doesnt work - help!!!
    By pocket_aces in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-14-2012, 06:46 AM
  2. HDMI-ARC doesn't work on 47pfl7696 with HTS9520
    By keijs in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-30-2012, 10:32 AM
  3. PIXEL PRECISE does not work HDMI
    By tiomiguel in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-20-2012, 06:26 AM
  4. Natural Motion does not work properly via HDMI
    By AndreyAv in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-02-2012, 06:46 AM
  5. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 05-10-2011, 04:56 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •