Results 1 to 9 of 9
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 141, Level: 1
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 9
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Lisbon
    Posts
    8
    Points
    141
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Cannot install Wi-Fi Media Connector

    I have a 32PFL7606H led TV for over a year and had connectivity between PC and TV over LAN with the help of of 2 Powerline connectors. I had WMC installed on my computer which was running Windows 7 Ultimate and working like a charm.
    Last month, and all of a sudden, whenever I started my PC (WMC was set as a startup programme) WMC would crash, and I cannot start it since then. Meanwhile I have done a fresh install of Windows 8 Pro, hoping that it would solve the problem, I have tried to disable the Firewall, I have checked the WMC service ports, and still it WMC does not start.
    Screenshot of crash message is below.
    I can see the TV in my home network, the TV does connect to the internet, I have reinstalled the Powerline connectors and nothing worked.
    I believe that I might have something installed that is not compatible with WMC... that makes it crash.
    Any suggestion? Does anybody have the same problem?
    Would appreciate some help, this is driving me crazy
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	WMC_crash.jpg 
Views:	145 
Size:	68.4 KB 
ID:	1578
    Last edited by luissa01; 12-09-2012 at 01:33 PM. Reason: Adding an image

  2. #2
    New Member
    Points: 141, Level: 1
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 9
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Lisbon
    Posts
    8
    Points
    141
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I forgot to mention that WMC is starting with Administrator rights.
    Thanks to all Luis

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 141, Level: 1
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 9
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Lisbon
    Posts
    8
    Points
    141
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Is there anyone who can provide me some help????

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 963, Level: 8
    Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 187
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Philips - Marco's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    101
    Points
    963
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by luissa01 View Post
    I have a 32PFL7606H led TV for over a year and had connectivity between PC and TV over LAN with the help of of 2 Powerline connectors. I had WMC installed on my computer which was running Windows 7 Ultimate and working like a charm.
    Last month, and all of a sudden, whenever I started my PC (WMC was set as a startup programme) WMC would crash, and I cannot start it since then. Meanwhile I have done a fresh install of Windows 8 Pro, hoping that it would solve the problem, I have tried to disable the Firewall, I have checked the WMC service ports, and still it WMC does not start.
    Screenshot of crash message is below.
    I can see the TV in my home network, the TV does connect to the internet, I have reinstalled the Powerline connectors and nothing worked.
    I believe that I might have something installed that is not compatible with WMC... that makes it crash.
    Any suggestion? Does anybody have the same problem?
    Would appreciate some help, this is driving me crazy
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	WMC_crash.jpg 
Views:	145 
Size:	68.4 KB 
ID:	1578

    Hi Luissa01,

    Have you already tried to run WifiMediaConnect in compatibility mode for Windows 7?

    Regards,
    Marco
    Forum Mod

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 141, Level: 1
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 9
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Lisbon
    Posts
    8
    Points
    141
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Marco,

    Yes, by default and while Windows 8 is not more common, I always install any new programe in compatibility mode with Windows 7, and did not work as well.
    In fact the problem started when I was still using Windows 7 and by making a fresh Windows 8 install I thought I could I could solve this problem...

    R/
    Luis

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Points: 963, Level: 8
    Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 187
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Philips - Marco's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    101
    Points
    963
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by luissa01 View Post
    Hi Marco,

    Yes, by default and while Windows 8 is not more common, I always install any new programe in compatibility mode with Windows 7, and did not work as well.
    In fact the problem started when I was still using Windows 7 and by making a fresh Windows 8 install I thought I could I could solve this problem...

    R/
    Luis
    Hi Luis,

    Since WifiMediaConnect is no longer supported on Windows 8, I would recommend you to try a different media server, there are several free software available and you can also use Windows Media Player as Media Server.

    Regards,
    Marco
    Forum Mod

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 141, Level: 1
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 9
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Lisbon
    Posts
    8
    Points
    141
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Marco,

    Thanks for the tip but although I do not think it my problem should be related to the OS (the problem began with Windows 7 Ultimate) I would ask you if using WMP as a media server does also allow me to project my PC screen on another TV, as WMC could do?

    R/
    Luís

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 50, Level: 1
    Level completed: 33%, Points required for next Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Buenos Aires Argentina
    Posts
    1
    Points
    50
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi, i have the same problem, the program worked when i instaled but after that never work again, when i execute the wi fi Mediaconnet.exe it crash, i have Windows XP, and my pc have more than the Recommended requirements, so please help!=)

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 141, Level: 1
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 9
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Lisbon
    Posts
    8
    Points
    141
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by AleH View Post
    Hi, i have the same problem, the program worked when i instaled but after that never work again, when i execute the wi fi Mediaconnet.exe it crash, i have Windows XP, and my pc have more than the Recommended requirements, so please help!=)
    Apparently nobody cares for us...
    I am trying to work around and not trust anymore on this Phillips Media Connect software... very unhappy with it.

Similar Topics

  1. Cannot install Wi-Fi Media Connector
    By luissa01 in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-09-2012, 01:29 PM
  2. Projection with wifi media connector is laggy
    By Michael_B in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-11-2012, 05:27 PM
  3. RF_In connector problem?
    By agmarco in forum TV: Installation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-29-2012, 08:51 AM
  4. 32PFL5606H - does it have a vga connector?
    By mkt in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-31-2011, 09:11 AM
  5. Use Net TV using PTA01 connector
    By aurbieta in forum Smart TV: Installation
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-20-2011, 10:04 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •