Results 1 to 14 of 14
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 240, Level: 2
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!31 days registered

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Malaga, Spain
    Posts
    13
    Points
    240
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0

    Not able to stream avi files from my NAS

    Hi

    I'm having a strange problem with one of my Philips TV. Indeed only one of them because my second one does it perfectly. I have both of them connected via LAN-WiFi to a NAS DLNA compatible (Iomega Home Media Cloud Edition).

    The initial setup was pretty easy, and I could access media in both cases instantly. I decided to copy all my videos from an old HD drive I used to connect via USB to my tv's, to the new network HD (all the videos I had there were fully supported by both tv's). Since I have them in it I can play all videos in one tv but I can't play any avi files in the other one.

    I thought since all files are streamed from a media server in my NAS device, it would be impossible to find such a problem.

    I can play any video and everything is OK in my 32PFL4007H/12

    I can't play any AVI files in my 40PFL7605H/12, although it could play them via USB.

    Both have updated firmware.

    Any idea of what is happening?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,405, Level: 16
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 45
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    163
    Points
    3,405
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    jorgefhq,

    Can you access the directories on the NAS from the 7605H/12 or not?
    Do you get an error message? Or do the AVI files just not play?

    Niels

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 240, Level: 2
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!31 days registered

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Malaga, Spain
    Posts
    13
    Points
    240
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Niels View Post
    jorgefhq,

    Can you access the directories on the NAS from the 7605H/12 or not?
    Do you get an error message? Or do the AVI files just not play?

    Niels
    Hi Niels

    Yes I can access all the directories on the NAS from both TV. I always get an error message when I try to play avi files. And the icon changes from a film-like icon to a cross in a box icon.

    The exact message I can not tell you because I don't know the exact translation from the message in Spanish I get, but it says that the format is incompatible.
    Last edited by jorgefhq; 12-22-2012 at 02:23 PM.

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,363, Level: 72
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 1,187
    Overall activity: 96.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,145
    Points
    54,363
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 198 Times in 177 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    it could be possible, that you need to activate in the TV network configuration that the PC can access the Tv...

    Toengel@Alex

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Toengel For This Useful Post:

    jorgefhq (12-23-2012)

  6. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 240, Level: 2
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!31 days registered

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Malaga, Spain
    Posts
    13
    Points
    240
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    it could be possible, that you need to activate in the TV network configuration that the PC can access the Tv...

    Toengel@Alex
    Hi Toengel

    First, how do you do that?
    Second, why would Ii have to enable PC access to the TV? It's not a PC-related problem, at least as far as I know. It's only that whatever avi file I want to play from my NAS device, my 40PFL7605h/12 says it can't. An this doesn't happen with my 32PFL4007H/12.

    Maybe it is obvious, but it's the first time I have to deal with a NAS device.

    I never had problems with streaming from my PC and also WiFi Media Connect works perfectly.

    Thanks.

  7. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 240, Level: 2
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!31 days registered

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Malaga, Spain
    Posts
    13
    Points
    240
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    it could be possible, that you need to activate in the TV network configuration that the PC can access the Tv...

    Toengel@Alex
    Thank you Toengel for your response.
    I've followed your advice but nothing has changed.

  8. #7
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,405, Level: 16
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 45
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    163
    Points
    3,405
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Jorgefhq,

    You also stated that the files were playable on the 7605 TV when connected via USB, so it is not a problem with file format or codec. That is strange. Did you upgrade the firmware in the mean time?
    Maybe you can check reconnecting the disk via USB if they still can be played by the TV.

    I do not play movies very often, but I also sometimes have a problem accessing media on my NAS.
    In some cases it helps to reset (power off for some time) both the TV and the router/NAS.

    Niels

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Niels For This Useful Post:

    jorgefhq (12-23-2012)

  10. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 240, Level: 2
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!31 days registered

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Malaga, Spain
    Posts
    13
    Points
    240
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Niels View Post
    Jorgefhq,

    You also stated that the files were playable on the 7605 TV when connected via USB, so it is not a problem with file format or codec. That is strange. Did you upgrade the firmware in the mean time?
    Maybe you can check reconnecting the disk via USB if they still can be played by the TV.

    I do not play movies very often, but I also sometimes have a problem accessing media on my NAS.
    In some cases it helps to reset (power off for some time) both the TV and the router/NAS.

    Niels
    I tried both. No joy. I can still play avi files via USB, and also tried rebooting.

  11. #9
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,405, Level: 16
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 45
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    163
    Points
    3,405
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Hm, strange.
    What else can make a difference?
    - firewall or something like that: no, since the other TV has no problem
    - speed: is your wireless network connection of good quality? check the TV connection quality/speed

    It must be something in the TV, so check your network settings (again...)
    - IP configuration OK?
    - Access PC files set to 'ON' (I do not know the right menu name of this option, since I use it in dutch)
    - connected to the same network name (maybe you run different networks, e.g. a 'guestnet' )

    I hope you will manage to find the cause...

    Niels

  12. #10
    Bronze Member
    Points: 240, Level: 2
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!31 days registered

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Malaga, Spain
    Posts
    13
    Points
    240
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for trying to help me Niels.

    I keep checking all your suggestions.

    I have different network connections, but that is not the problem because it is actually my 7605 which is connected directly to the router, and the smaller TV is linked via WiFi. A problem with the router would affect all the devices I have at home, and I would have noticed it before.

    It looks like for some reason it is not an allowed video format but only via dlna. Maybe its simply that.

    I've tried a couple things last night and I've found something even weirder. I've configured a Twonky server in my PC, and I have added all my media files to the shared list. After doing so, I've accessed via dlna directly to my PC, witch now is recognized by my 7605 as a new media server, and guess what? I can read all video formats with no problem at all! And of course the're still in my NAS.

    This won't be the solution for my problem because I don't want to have my PC on every time I want to access media at home, but maybe someone can find the reason I'm having this strange problem trying different setups.

    I first thought that at least I had found that it was my NAS acting as a Media Server my real problem due to some strange incompatibility with avi files. But NO, I had forgotten that I can play avi files in the other TV.

    Well I guess I'll have to keep searching. I hope that someone within Philips technical service could read my posts and help me a bit. BTW, I've replied a couple times to Toengel but, again for some strange reason, my posts don't appear published. I got a message I didn't read entirely, but I could see something like moderators had to check them before publishing. I'd first want to say thank you to Toengel, who tried to help me also very fast, and secondly I'd like to know if it is a normal procedure, and where are my replies to his posts.

    Thank you all.

  13. #11
    Bronze Member
    Points: 240, Level: 2
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!31 days registered

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Malaga, Spain
    Posts
    13
    Points
    240
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    @Philips

    Is there any reason why I shouldn't be able to play avi files using dlna while I can play all of them via USB?

    My TV 42PFL7605H/12.

    Please help! Most of my video files are avi files and I have them stored in an IOMEGA Home Media Network Hard Drive. Will I have to convert all of them to another format?

  14. #12
    New Member
    Points: 20, Level: 1
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 30
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1
    Points
    20
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jorgefhq View Post
    @Philips

    Is there any reason why I shouldn't be able to play avi files using dlna while I can play all of them via USB?

    My TV 42PFL7605H/12.

    Please help! Most of my video files are avi files and I have them stored in an IOMEGA Home Media Network Hard Drive. Will I have to convert all of them to another format?
    Ola,
    Did you find a solution in the meantime? I'm having the exact same problem with the same television.
    Thanks, Lidwien

  15. #13
    Bronze Member
    Points: 240, Level: 2
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!31 days registered

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Malaga, Spain
    Posts
    13
    Points
    240
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello, Lidwien

    Yes, I have improved things a little bit, just by using a very simple workaround. I managed to get into internal Twonky server that rules the media capabilities inside my Iomega Home media, and I configured it in a different way, changing default settings.

    By typing your local adress IP followed by :9000 (i.e. 192.168.1.25:9000 in my case) you get access to the Twonky server. Then click in "media receivers", and look for your Philips TV. Change the Philips Renderer TV and select instead Kenwood Media Player. I actually don't know why it works, but the important thing is that I've had no problems since. It might be something about config files for Philips TVs that we can't access and edit freely.

    Don' t forget that everytime you have to restart your NAS drive you have to repeat this procedure.

    I hope it helps.

  16. #14
    Points: 578, Level: 6
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 172
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2
    Points
    578
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I think you may try convert avi file to a more common format like mov. As for the solution, I suggest AppGeeker AVI MOV Converter. It should get you through what you have. It basically converts anything to anything so you shouldn't have any problem finding something that works

Similar Topics

  1. New on Net TV: LyngSat Stream.
    By Philips in forum Smart TV: New Apps
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-16-2013, 03:19 PM
  2. New on Net TV: Stream
    By Philips - Mark in forum Smart TV: New Apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-28-2012, 11:41 AM
  3. Which NAS to stream to 32pfl7406h/12
    By Hansm in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-28-2012, 07:56 AM
  4. Can't stream from my desktop.
    By ivar in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-29-2011, 04:08 PM
  5. New on Net TV: Stream Interactive
    By Philips - Mark in forum Smart TV: New Apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-08-2011, 02:29 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •