Results 1 to 11 of 11
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 30, Level: 1
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 20
    Overall activity: 80.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    2
    Points
    30
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    backlight timer not working

    Hey everybody,

    I've got a slight issue with my 2-week-old GoGear Vibe 8GB (Fullsound edition). The backlight timer is useless, basically. I can set it to 10, 20, 30 seconds, but it keeps on going for more or less a minute, whether playing or not, with or without the keys blocked. Since I'd like to maximize the duration of the battery, can somebody help me?
    I'm using it with Ubuntu 12.04, I don't think it's a problem, but who knows...

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Is it up to date?

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 30, Level: 1
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 20
    Overall activity: 80.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    2
    Points
    30
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Well, I haven't updated the firmware, since I bought it 2 weeks ago I thought it was up-to-date. The running version is the 1.11
    Thanks!

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 39, Level: 1
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 11
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    4
    Points
    39
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I just encountered the same problem after updating the firmware of my SA3VBE08KN/02 from 1.00 to 2.12.

    Because that is quite annoying my Google-research brought me to this topic...

    The backlight timer has some function though, it dims the display now... Additionally the backlight timer-setting of "Always on" is also being ignored.

    The display will no matter the setting turn to off/screensaver after about one minute.

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 864, Level: 7
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 86
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!500 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    41
    Points
    864
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Do you have a Demo mode on your player? Try enabling it, maybe this helps?

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 39, Level: 1
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 11
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    4
    Points
    39
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The Demo Mode seems to work, although the timer is also ignored and fixed to ~60 seconds.

    But this is not the point. Philips broke the customizable backlight timer and that vexes me...

    Is there a way to recover the initial firmware?

  7. #7
    Silver Member
    Points: 822, Level: 7
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 128
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points
    William Wallace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    160
    Points
    822
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Hi soul-mode

    To my knowUnfortunately there is no way to rewrite the initial firmware in this model...

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 39, Level: 1
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 11
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    4
    Points
    39
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Well then, sh*t happens...

    For this I went through quite a hazzle with this sites account-activation/-verification/-migration/-etc.ion...

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Points: 9,525, Level: 29
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 425
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    883
    Points
    9,525
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear Snaddy,

    Could you please let us know your model number so that we can check further on your issue?

    Dear Soul-mole,

    We have noted your case and are now checking with the team if this can be resolved.
    However, since this is a 2011 model, we are not sure if there is still production. We will keep you updated.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Last edited by Philips - QK; 03-14-2013 at 06:14 AM.
    Forum Mod

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 39, Level: 1
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 11
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    4
    Points
    39
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    When you are already at it, a tiny bug might be also mentioned, which is there since 1.00 or got re-introduced during updates.

    When hovering the "Settings" menu option in the main menu, it shows the date at the bottom.

    This date however only gets updated if the "Set Date" menu is opened, which will also show the old date the first time it is selected (same goes for "Set Time") or the screensaver is set to "Digital Clock".

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 12, Level: 1
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1
    Points
    12
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi

    I have exactly the same issue with a SA4VBE04SN/12 running firmware 1.11. It doesn't matter what the backlight setting is it will stay on for 60 seconds.

    It has only started happening since I repaired my player. Any help would be great.

    Thanks,

    DJ

Similar Topics

  1. DS1200 timer
    By kristine in forum Sound: DS1000- and DS3000-series
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-13-2012, 09:26 AM
  2. Wakeup timer
    By Mar in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-23-2012, 08:00 AM
  3. USB recording using DVB-EPG or timer
    By Mattias in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-24-2012, 08:33 PM
  4. TV Backlight is not working
    By mondi94 in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-27-2011, 06:15 PM
  5. Sleep timer?
    By petasis in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-03-2011, 01:10 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •