Results 1 to 8 of 8
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 55, Level: 1
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 95
    Overall activity: 99.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Malaga, Spain
    Posts
    4
    Points
    55
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Recording in Windows Media Center

    How do I record TV signal from the DVB-S tuner of my Philips 40PFL5605K/02 TV in Windowns Media Center (computer connected via HDMI cable)?

    Does a windows driver exist for the DVB-S tuner that is incorporated in the TV?

    I read somewhere that HDD-recorders may record via the SCART cable, but it should be possible via the HDMI cable as well, right?

    How do I get Windows Media Center to register the DVB-S tuner of the TV?

    Thank you in advance.

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,225, Level: 72
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 1,325
    Overall activity: 37.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,137
    Points
    54,225
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 196 Times in 175 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    your TV does not have any video output. You cannot record with an external device.

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 55, Level: 1
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 95
    Overall activity: 99.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Malaga, Spain
    Posts
    4
    Points
    55
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thank you for your reply.

    It is, however, very explicit in the TV help function that signal can be recorded with an external drive (e.g. DVD Recorder) via the SCART cable, so some sort of video output is there. The question is just how to grab it (with my computer/Windows Media Center)...

    Any ideas?

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,225, Level: 72
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 1,325
    Overall activity: 37.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,137
    Points
    54,225
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 196 Times in 175 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    on which page of the manual?

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 55, Level: 1
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 95
    Overall activity: 99.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Malaga, Spain
    Posts
    4
    Points
    55
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    This was in the HELP function on the TV; Menu>Help>Connections>Connect units>DVD Recorder

    But I also found it in the English manual on page 42.

  6. #6
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,225, Level: 72
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 1,325
    Overall activity: 37.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,137
    Points
    54,225
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 196 Times in 175 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    what you can see there, is that you can record with the DVD-Recorder (the antenna cable is connected FIRST to the DVD-Recorder). To watch TV (and use the internal Tuner), the antenna cable is connected from DVD-Recorder to the TV (it's a passthrough of the antenna signal). To watch content vom the DVD-Recorder, it's connected via SCART to the TV. The TV is only a output device.

    Toengel@Alex

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 55, Level: 1
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 95
    Overall activity: 99.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Malaga, Spain
    Posts
    4
    Points
    55
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    OK, I see. Thank you.

    Is there no way to access the output of the DVB-S tuner of the TV ?
    E.g. by ethernet cable, USB, HDMI or anything else?

  8. #8
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,225, Level: 72
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 1,325
    Overall activity: 37.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,137
    Points
    54,225
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 196 Times in 175 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    no - the TV does not have ANY video output connector.

    Toengel@Alex

Similar Topics

  1. Windows Media Center
    By oland in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-08-2013, 01:55 AM
  2. wifi media conect not working with windows 8
    By pip in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-04-2012, 03:05 PM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-15-2012, 12:02 PM
  4. Can BDP5200 connect to Windows Media Center?
    By WolfHound in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-17-2012, 09:11 PM
  5. Wifi media connect Windows 7 64 bit
    By Erikrijnders in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 08-22-2011, 06:56 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •